Jars of the Dead

in #archaeology7 years ago

Join me in this walk to see ancient burial jars and resting place which were found from various locations across our country. These were on display on the National Museum of Anthropology in Manila. Join me as I share with you the..............


Jars of the Dead

1.JPG

This museum houses a lot of historical and archaeological finds across the country. From shipwrecks to artworks but what caught my attention was this section which exhibits burial jars and coffins.

2.JPG

On display is a miniature depiction of the discovery of the jars in a cave from the Mountains of Saranggani. The lids of the jars were detailed sculptured human figures. Each face sculpture was unique and probably represents the previous life of each remain inside the jar.

Thru carbon dating the jars dates back from 5 BC to around AD 370 as per experts. These jars are a rare find especially in our country. This is evidence that culture was developing during this period.

3.JPG

4.JPG

5.1.JPG

Here are some of the lids which were recovered from the excavation site. As you would notice there are lines with holes on top of the sculptures. No one could explain what the holes were for. Maybe the lines represents status, tribe or holes so they could escape to the afterlife. I am no expert but researchers would probably have the answer to that.

5.JPG

6.JPG

7.JPG

Also on display are large lime stone jars found from a different location. The design is very different than the ones found from the mountains. An indication that there are a lot of tribes with different cultures thriving in the country.

8.JPG

9.1.JPG

There were also wooden coffins with skeleton remains inside as indicated . I am just not sure if it is still there as the coffin is closed. It is designed with carvings of a snake head and crocodile. Does not indicate though from which period it was from.

9.JPG

10.JPG

11.JPG

This is called the Mananggul Jar found in Palawan and was told to date back from 710-890 BC.

12.JPG

The intricate design on the lid depicts two people sailing to the afterlife. You would also notice that the boat has a face which could also represent a lot of things in their culture.

13.JPG

On display is the map of the Philippines where the artifacts were found. Underwater archaeology , historic locations and museums can be shown by pressing the button. It lits up areas on the map where it is located in the country.

14.JPG

15.JPG

Historical discoveries are very important as it could change or explain the missing link in history. These are considered as treasure that showcases our culture and life from the past.

Thank you for joining me in this walk and I hope you enjoyed my share for today. Cheers Steemians!

16.JPG


Please vote @steemgigs as witness and help support @surpassinggoogle

Also thanks to @bayanihan where the impossible becomes possible thru unity.

Taken with Lumix GX85 and 12-32 mm

Snake new.jpg

Sort:  

its a good article sir... historical archeology..

Thank you glad I was able to share part of Philippine archaeology.

Upvoted and resteemed.thank you for your wonderful post. Interesting! More like this kabayan thank you.

Thank you for the generous support from the team and Terry as always. I am very glad to have received a comment from @bayanihan as this is a chance for us to thank the team. I am always looking forward to showcase our culture. Regularly I post my content at night once I get home from work. Today I called in sick and got a chance to do a post. Call it crazy but I could say I'm glad that I got sick today 😂. Again thank you very much from me and my crew composed of my wife two kids and their cousins. Hope we could get a chance to chat and meet the team one day. 😊

By being sick, our body is telling us to rest.
#bayanihan looks for quality posts...and yours was one of the best that day.
You have a great team by the looks of it.
As there are 7 of us in bayanihan..you probably met some of us already, esp if you're in cebu😉😉

Got a good rest and back to work again today. We are from cavite area hope me and the family could visit cebu one day. You guys are doing awesome work to help motivate, grow and giving a lot of people a chance to shine. Thank you 😊

Discovery Channel at Nat Geo ang levels! :)

Di naman bro mga Sineskwela lang 😂.

Pang Science yun Sineskwela eh. Pede pa sa Bayani. 😜
#batang90s

Ahhaha uu nga pala 😂

Ako kahapon, ikaw naman ngayon. Must be the weather.

True balik ulit work tomorrow

Nice one bro. Husay nito.

This is fascinating. Thanks for sharing this bit of history. Great photos.💯🆙

Thank you Melinda I'm glad you liked my share of a little bit of historical archeology. It was an amazing experience during our visit. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63271.81
ETH 2568.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80