Interesting FindsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #archaeology7 years ago

I think it is a cup stone. The strange thing about them is that no one is quite sure what they were for. Was it for bi-polar knapping? Was it for cracking hard shelled nuts? Was it a mortar for crushing herbs or mixing pigments? If only rocks could talk. It feels really nice in my hand, like somebody loved it.
33.jpg

Sort:  

Probably something like a mortar and pestle? (Minus the pestle)

Yes, it does look like there is some sort of residue in there to me.

Very cool! Thank you for sharing this

How big is it?
Maybe it was the top stone when trying to start a fire by friction? Don't know if I'm making sense here.

It is 63.5 mm wide and 88.9 mm long.

I think its one of these. Nr 4

It would be part of your nifty fire starting and general drilling kit.
I lived in Botswana for 5 years and had seen both the San and Naru peoples using this technique to drill into ostrich shells to make jewellery.
Here is a link to how it works if you want to start a fire. http://wildernessarena.com/food-water-shelter/firecraft/lighting-a-fire

Interesting, I have some matches. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97