I see you!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #archaeology6 years ago (edited)

E0DEA6AF-80E4-4BBA-8DE4-3752E4DC8501.jpeg

I took this photos visiting the Egyptian museum of Turin (which is the best after the Cairo one) and I couldn’t help but notice almost the same representation on each coffin.

1711E499-9BE7-4D61-83C2-F44E760408D4.jpeg

I discovered these are “sacred eyes”: it was believed that the deads could watch outside the coffins so they could see what happened around!

575E685E-4D8D-4E44-9308-A6C111EB1384.jpeg

Sort:  

Wow you are progressing fast! 47 reputation!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you!! :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Good pictures, by the way, quite curious about the eyes, I did not know.

Now you know :) thank you for reading me!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations @deinomache! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 50 replies. Your next target is to reach 100 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

That's really interesting, I had no idea :) Keep up the good work! That museum looks very nice too, got to put it on my to-visit list! :D

The museum and the city of Turin are both amazing! I fell in love with those places
1C311F82-7B98-49D8-9D70-B97FEC931467.jpeg
Thank you for reading me! :)

hi @deinomache !

I love it ! This is so smart thinking ! I wanted to welcome you, but I lost your introduction post in my many opened web pages, so I grab this occasion ! WELCOME among us, I'm glad you are here ! I'm an absolute fan of history and I will keep an eye close to your achievements !

have a awesome week and see you soon !

@anttn

Thank you!!! I’m happy you’re a fan of history, I hope you’ll enjoy my future posts too! :)

it's a pleasure ! keep writing good quality posts about what you love, this is the secret ;) have a sweet weekend dear @deinomache !

@anttn

Thank you very much!!! Wish you the same! :) :)

great photo's great post! :-)
qualityupvotedshared620x125.png

Thank you very much!!

@stnr thank you for resteeming my posts!!🌟

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60589.35
ETH 2628.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53