Archaeology and fossils only 15 km from my home.

in #archaelogy7 years ago (edited)

Langenboom

Yesterday I was checking the posts of a great follower @awgbibb and he was commenting on a great post of @gavvet. I love the post and resteemed it. For me it was several years ago that I found a nice fossil at the beach. The post triggered me again to look onto the internet. I was surprised that only a few kilometer from my home there is a good archaeology site.I hope you like my contribution so I can post more of this fascinating world.

The Brabant village "Langenboom" has a mud sprayer! Fossil fanatics are coming from far and wide, to take voluntarily the most dirty shower in the Netherlands. Their hands clamp a shopping cart or stroller, converted by the owner into a sieve.

Real archaeology fanatics get scratched against the splashing water and creep as close as possible under the pipe. They go for the best place, because with the mud there are well-received fossils. You obviously hope that the top of the day ends up your sieve.
Ice cold water and tingling sand in your eyes? What if you have a chance of shark teeth, whale vertebrates, even complete skulls from a long past. Black gold from the time North Brabant was a sea in which remarkable animals lived.

Shark teeth, shells and other fossils

Langenboom is a village in the east of northern Brabant, about twenty kilometers south of Nijmegen. Here lies the recreation pool De Kuilen. From the puddle, a sand dredger wins sand for road construction. The sand is aspirated and sprayed through a pipe system in a sealed basin. Where the mud flows out of the pipe there are men and a single woman every day in the dredger. Using a sieve, they search for shark teeth, whale vertebrates, skulls of dolphins and other fossils that have come up with the sand. Locality The Pits is special because it produces fossils from the Mioce and Plioceen; In few other places in our country, remains of animals from these periods come to the surface.

finds:
primative sperm whale

Thx all for reading and any positive feedback is wanted.

Sort:  

Interesting Post,Thank You.

Thx, Is @gavvet a personal friend of yours? Saw him mention the lyrics. I wish he would will give me a support for my Steemit adventure. He can dreams make come true. I would be even able to visit south Africa after my family trip to the US in 2019.

He got me on to Steemit, I knew his Father.

Ahh Ok. Its great to Also have such a supporting steemian. He Can make dreams come true. You are a very Nice supporter for me. Love that And much appreciate it. Thx again

Noort Brabant?

My ancestors are from Bergen op Zoom

Yes in noord Brabant. So you have dutch blood. Did you visit Holland ? Have eaten stroopwafels?

Thx for your support on my post. This is really great and gives me a big smile.. That's also what i an doing it for. Good support is really nice, and hopefully I can achive one of my dreams and that is to visit the US in 2019 with my kids. @awgbibb also is nice and always supportive to me.

It's in the same province Noord Brabant, but for Holland it is a far distance because it's such a small country

I have ancestors from Dordrecht, roosendal 's-Hertogenbosh, pretty much all over that province since my direct paternal line goes back to the 1500 there

I love 's hertogenbosch. Beautifull place. Did you visit Holland before? Maybe you Can come with @awgbibb And we Can drink a beer together in noord Brabant.

Maybe you like this book? from https://steemit.com/archaeology/@rival/archaeology-part-3-book-review-excavations-in-bergen-op-zoom
Let me know in case I have to order it for you

nice post

This post has received a 0.43 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @rival.

This post has received a 9.05 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @rival.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61553.99
ETH 2881.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54