Succeeding as a Minnow in Steemit: Communities

in #arab7 years ago

The Struggle

I have heard and seen first hand so many minnows joining steemit for the thrill of the money, yet leaving after few days, dropping the whole idea due to their posts not getting the proper attention, proper votes, or the anticipated support or success.
Others last few weeks, yet always the problem with what to write, what to share, and again, how to get the proper votes and the steemit success..and then gone..


image.png

..Is Real

Yes, the struggle is real. With around 600,000 registered steemit users (and bots) at the moment, the number of active users comes down to a much lower portion of this at the moment.
Still, competing with ten of thousands of active users is NOT an easy task, and requires motivation, persistence, and basically a community or support group that can teach you and help you how to grow and succeed in this platform

Communities

Luckily to minnows, many communities have been created by different initiatives to help new comers and less noticed steemians, take the correct path to get noticed and receive the proper attention.
Now while there are many that I might not be aware of or have had little interaction with, yet this below compilation would list those ones that I am most familiar with, along with some information pertaining them to the best of my knowledge:

MAP/Mapsters

#MAP (Minnow Accelerator Project) or #mapsters is a fantastic effort lead by @rycharde to help minnows grow.
Frequent competitions are conducted, and based on the quality of your posts, you could be eligible for SP delegations.
I have been accepted into MAP a long time ago, and I'm sure you would love it there!
To join: https://steemit.com/mapforum/@accelerator/how-to-join-the-map-community-minnows-accelerator-project

Steemitbloggers

#steemitbloggers is an amazing community created by @jaynie to connect bloggers from all across the world, to share and support each other.
A key requirement is mutual support, meaning you would need to upvote and comment on a daily basis for a different member, otherwise you risk of losing your membership on the discord channel.
Recently steemitbloggers quality articles started getting upvotes from the @appreciator project, which provides members with higher valued rewards.
To join: https://discord.gg/QZcW43N

Minnow University

#MinnowUniversity is another excellent effort that I came to learn of recently. The name says it all, it's a university where you learn the keys to success here at steemit.
Essentially the aim is help educate new users on how to succeed using the Steemit platform.
The project is initiated by @swelker101 , and supported by @isaria and @kubbyelizabeth
You can attend their webinars, but also watch recorded sessions.
To join: https://discord.gg/dSWKmcG

Promo-Steem

#promo-steem provides great tutoring for new minnows, while conducting tutoring and review sessions for your blog posts, to make sure your posts are of the needed quality to succeed.
The project has several whales on board who could upvote your great content.
This effort on discord is lead by @futurethinker
To join: https://discord.gg/brBrmeW

SteemSTEM

#steemSTEM - a superb community that aims to help STEM (science, technology, engineering and mathematics) related high-quality articles get proper support, attention, and upvotes.
I am personally thankful to steemSTEM as they were one of the first communities I have received support from across the months.
You could get a greatly-valued upvote by writing an excellent "scientific" article.
This work is co-founded by @lemouth and @justtryme90, and has a nicely active chat room.
To join the chat: https://steemit.chat/channel/steemSTEM

Utopian

#utopian-io is an amazing effort started few months back in order to support open source work and contributors.
Whether you are a developer, a quality assurance engineer, a translator, a project owner, a graphics designer... you could receive high vote to your effort if your post/effort qualifies.
Your posts are submitted to utopian via the utopian.io steem interface, and then evaluated for proper
I am proud to be a utopian supervisor on this project.
The effort was initiated by @elear, and has and still is growning immensely.
To join the chat: https://discord.gg/ut5TbkC

Arabsteem

Last but not least #arabsteem is my own baby :) I started this initiative to help new and existing Arab members grow, but also to bring in new Arab people to steemit !
We've been offering our daily upvotes to quality posts (with the limited SP we have), have an active curation trail that adds to this vote, compiling daily curation digest of the best articles, but also actively promoting steemit online, offline, paid facebook campaigns..
To Join: https://discord.gg/fTaT8b6

Success..?

While those communities and many more exist here to help you learn, grow, and start getting some good results on your posts, yet the key remains in your hand to write proper contributions, high quality posts, and avoid plagiarism .. all while having fun !

Again, a big thank you to all those communities and all the others, and I do hope this comes in as helpful to as many minnows out there, and thank you for reading through!

@mcfarhat

Sort:  

Yep! That's me! I am not worried about the money. I just want to get better at what I'm posting. I actually spend several hours on one post. This is important to me and I don't feel that I have settled into what I will blog about most. I look forward to being a big part of the steem culture and finding my groove. You post was really helpful. I book marked it as a reference. Cheers, @mcfarhat

Glad to hear .. And you will get better, just keep going and try some if not all of those communities, they really help!

I will, Thanks a bunch🤗

Some really great support networks there, thank you for the links! I have been a little lazy in Steemit since the new year, I really need to get into the swing of things again. I haven't been out with my camera hardly at all! I need to make more of an effort

Oh you're always welcome :)
Yeppp never lose momentum, we have ups and downs yet we are in for the long run!

Thank you for sharing this post i really appreciate your helpful information @mcfarhat
Vote and resteem

Always welcome:)

With all those resources you mentioned in your post, I have no choice but to open a special widow for this post and check each and every one of them one by one and see how I can join them to better enhance my engagement and learning on the steemit platform. Thanks for sharing @mcfarhat. Very valuable post.

Always glad to be of help my friend. Looking forward to more of your great posts.

Thanks a lot for all the effort you do to help the community. :) Highly appreciated.

I think seeing alot of these projects are a god sing for the success of steemit. peeople are doing their best to promote steemit and help new users. think Blockcain and crypto world is very undrvalue and still unknow for most of people world wild. so that why we see people come and go with empty hands. but if we do more efforts and support new minows like your baby project is doing very well in Arab world. I believe that steemit community will grow up more and come to light sooner. technoloy made world like a small village so I believe that any project has purpose of spreading love and respect everywhere it will success. so like your arabsteem project is doing well and helping people from your community come t steemit and include themselves in world community. So the POWER of steemit is the Power of diversity . thanks for sharing with us your thoughtes about steemit. wish you success. you are great man and have done alot to steemit. By the way you are one of nice people who made me like and stay on steemit. shukran man

Thank you Khaled for your nice words, and for all your help as well on @arabsteem !
One of the greatest things about steemit is meeting people like you :)

Thank you for the very helpful post! I've been trying to stay very active since I started almost 2 weeks ago, and have been trying to make as many original posts as I can and also to upvote and comment on any quality content that I've come across along the way. Unfortunately it does seem to be going along very slowly so far, and I also managed to lose half of the little STEEM I've earned so far because I sent to the wrong wallet like a dummy :(

I'm going to stick with Steem/Steemit for sure regardless though, because I think that there is huge potential here and I really enjoy it as well! I'll be sure to checkout the suggestions that you've included above, and hopefully I'll get a bit more momentum going after a while!

Thanks again!

https://steemit.com/@therockman

That's the spirit !

Great info thanks for sharing

You're welcome!

life is the name of struggle just like steemit. To get some thing big you have to do some thing big. For every success you need to work hard, and keep faith and patience. Thanks for sharing nice info. You are doing a great work for minnows. keep it up. Nice share @mcfarhat

Great post / Resteeming / The struggle IS real (-:

hehe thank you as always

I didn't know most of them, thanks.
In addition people at PAL are very helpful, way too much helpful.

Yep MSP/PAL is another great community

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59439.79
ETH 2290.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48