Finding some misplaced Bristlenose (Ancistrus sp.) eggs

in #aquarium6 years ago

I bought 5 new bristlenose catfish (Ancistrus sp.) about a month ago, including a huge male. This was great since I already owned a pretty big female, so I have been hoping for them to lay some eggs ever since.

I got my wish fulfilled a few days ago when I came across a patch of eggs just lying around in the sand, and quickly realized that these must be from the bristlenose catfish. But that's not generally where they are supposed to lie eggs; the male is supposed to court a female into lying the eggs inside a cave of some sorts. I have already provided them with several caves that would be suitable for them to lie eggs in, but instead they just left them out in the open.

DSC_0194 – Kopi.jpg

One of the smaller bristlenoses. The big male is notoriously shy, so I have not been able to get a photo of him at all. A Corydoras sterbai is seen in the background.

So what to do? Either I let them stay there in order to give the Corydoras sp. a free meal, or I move them to another aquarium and hope for the best. I did the latter, and set up a 54L aquarium in my office for them to hopefully hatch.

These eggs should typically be guarded and cleaned by the male bristlenose, so I'm not too convinced that I will be able to save them without having them in a cave, but I think this is the best solution. We'll see how it goes. And if it does not work out, then at least now I know that they will breed. Hopefully they will use a better place to put the eggs next time.

IMG_0199 – Kopi.JPG

The eggs in their new aquarium. I didn't get a good shot with the focus on the eggs, unfortunately. That's the downside to using a cell phone camera.

Thanks for stopping by. I hope to be able to write a follow-up in a few days when they hatch, but we'll see how that goes.

Sort:  

What a nice Christmas present you got! I have never made it to this level with my catfish... Very strange to see the eggs laid in open space though, I thought they would always do it inside their hideout. Fingers crossed with hatching my friend! :)

Yep, it was a nice Christmas surprise :)

And I agree, it is super strange for them to place the eggs out in the open. But I think it is simply because its their first spawning, and they are inexperienced, so they made a "small" mistake.

That is interesting. You are probably right but I would have thought that they are genetically "programmed" not to make such mistakes by nature. Interesting indeed.

Hi @valth!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.188 which ranks you at #858 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 3 places in the last three days (old rank 855).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 373 contributions, your post is ranked at #326.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62102.06
ETH 2415.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49