Sort:  

hrmm...interesting Idea, not so sure, if it has lime in it as well then it would still breakdown and contribute to a high ph regime I believe. I was excited to use the aircrete for the cone but you really have to watch anything that can affect the water chemistry.

All concrete has lime in it, but hydraulic cement is made to withstand long term exposure to water. If the lime kept dissolving out it would eventually crumble like a wet cinderblock.

Hrmm, I think if there is any lime present there will be an interaction with the system. It would be a good experiment, I need to find something to do with this vortex barrel now. It may get buried on my property and used as an overflow water storage to water my trees.

My boss is a materials expert. He says that what you need is a top coat of latex modified grout.

Nice! thank you @professorbromide. If it seals everything up it should be gtg.

I'm geeking out on the chemistry of cement, mortar, grout, and concrete over lunch today. Check this page out: https://www.concreteconstruction.net/how-to/grout-or-mortar_o

I found at least two references that claim mortar has little or no lime in it.

This stuff looks like the perfect solution for you. It is $125 for a 50 lb bag. Kind of expensive, but it comes in a lot of pretty colors!

Or this stuff on Ebay. 3 lbs for $30

Nice research! I might grab that stuff from ebay. I would like to use this vortex filter in some application I may be able to seal the entire vortex section with this stuff. Thank you brother!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65556.02
ETH 2660.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.91