You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Thoughts on the New Apple iMac Pro

in #apple7 years ago

Great post, and I can only speak from the experience of owning numerous iterations of the iPad, and iPhone. Two products that in their time represented a paradigm shift in their own areas, the iPhone took cell phones and personal music players and put them together in a package that made me drool when looking at them, opening my first iPod box felt like being at my own gala opening.

The iPad , in my opinion, was the pinnacle of tablet tech, but only for a while. Don’t get me wrong I have an iPad air 2 and it’s awesome, but both products have been suffering from Incrementalism for a long time, I think apple is a company that’s kinda resting on the laurels of a great line of products but not pushing and driving to keep on innovating and blowing the opposition out of the water.

What epitomises that for me is what Steve Jobs said about stencils and iPad, if you have a stencil then you have lost already, or words to that effect.

I hope I am wrong, but that crazy drive to be innovative and the first to do stuff, or take existing tech and make it breath taking seems to be slightly off course. As much as I love my iPad it still seems at this stage it should be something else so much better…

Sort:  

Great response. I think I feel the same way in many respects. The revolutionary trend setting nature seems to have gone. They still have great design but they no longer seem to lead and I can't help but think that it is because Jobs is gone. That "X" factor is missing and that was the genius of the man I think.

That's exactly what i think, Jobs drove them to surpass themselves and i think he would be shocked by this lazy, oh lets give them a slightly faster CPU mind set. Its annoying that the iPad 4 had the best battery i have ever seen and the iPad air 2 seems to die after watching a Youtube video, okay so that's more to do with battery technology being rooted in the 80s, how we havent improved that i don't know.

But certainly the dynamism and the futuristic feel has gone from Apple, i remember the first time using an iPad and thought i was on the bridge if the enterprise, it seems there are no tech imagineers and leaders out there and everyone is chasing everyone elses tails, round and round and ever getting out to something that could be amazing again and that's what apple tech was at the beginning.

Yes. I agree I think battery technology is really holding us back. Also agree the future feel has gone, not sure where they can really go but I think Jobs would have known.

We lost a genius when he passed. A real shame.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64252.58
ETH 3495.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50