You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Thoughts on the New Apple iMac Pro

in #apple7 years ago (edited)

Unfortunately in the last five to ten years it has seemed that Apple has been moving away from serving pro users.

I thought it was a huge bummer when they removed the iMac 27" Retinas support for being usable as a separate monitor, and turned it into just a restricted all-in-one. It's been hard to find a good value proposition since then for the larger displays at resolutions like 5K.

Also, I don't think Apple is too keen on supporting expansion and repair in general. I think they are happy with users accepting aesthetics over durability and running pretty regular replacement.

Then again, maybe I'm just saying that because Universal Studios security broke my girlfriend's iPhone.

Sort:  

I thought it was a huge bummer when they removed the iMac 27" Retinas support for being usable as a separate monitor, and turned it into just a restricted all-in-one. It's been hard to find a good value proposition since then for the larger displays at resolutions like 5K.

That is crazy.

Also, I don't think Apple is too keen on supporting expansion and repair in general. I think they are happy with users accepting aesthetics over durability and running pretty regular replacement.

True but that was why the old tower Mac Pros were so good.

Then again, maybe I'm just saying that because Universal Studios security broke my girlfriend's iPhone.

What happened?

Agreed on the old Mac Pros.

They have massive security to get into Universal Studios now. It's not that far off airport TSA if you remove the body scanner - full pat-down and everything. They force you to empty all your personal objects and put them in crappy little plastic bins sized for something like paper clips. Then they slide things down a table to you after you go through metal detectors and, guess what, they take no responsibility for when they rocket them straight off the table and your (obnoxiously fragile) phone explodes from its first-ever glancing blow from 2 feet, 4 inches up.

Darn things are miraculously thin and light, though!

OK yes I have experienced the "pleasure" of the TSA. I generally get enhanced attention because I look like a terrorist or criminal lol but to be honest it is horrible for everyone. I wonder how much money the airlines lose because people avoid travelling that way.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64453.36
ETH 3507.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56