You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Thoughts on the New Apple iMac Pro

in #apple7 years ago

As a lifelong PC user, the repair issue that you mentioned is a huge one for me.

If I were to dip my toe into Mac-land, I'd try going the hackintosh route. For desktops, I can't see any good reasons for paying Apple's markup on the hardware.

I've heard that hackintosh is pretty big in the music industry. Mostly because Apple has phased out a few things that a lot of the production equipment still requires. Don't know how true that is or how widespread it is. .

Sort:  

Yeah, I really feel you there...I am a mac user, but I prettymuch just buy 2013 MBP's at the moment, for all my family too. Because they're still modular, you can still replace drives, upgrade ram, etc. I haven't been excited about eventually having to move to a machine that I can't fix =(

That makes a lot of sense. One of the main uses for me for the Mac was for music making as I prefered Logic Pro to the alternatives. That is also something that my friends use it for and some of them are still holding on to the old Mac Pros because of the various internal cards that they still use. I think for many of them a Hackintosh would require too much work.

Really? Like the PCMCIA standard? I belive I had that in my first 2009 MBP.

I think you are mistaken. That has been obsolete for over a decade.

Hmm I can't seem to find it on the internet but it does have little door. I gave it to my brother. It's a slot for cards, not SD card but for something like PCMCIA, I forgot the actual name. 2017-2009 = 8 years so what could it be?

I think it is an express card slot.

Yes! That is it! Thanks for reminding me, I could not remember the name. But I do remember about Echo having cards for that slot. I used to use BeOS you see and there were drivers for those cards. So we both make music, nice to hear! I just have an MBA and a cheap USB soundcard but still it is possible to make good tunes. For me it is all about the inspiration, take Pianoteq for example, amazing how alive this software can sound. And Strum by AAS.. really fun to play.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64252.58
ETH 3495.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50