It is the Christmas shopping time of year and while I am not a big fan of it, we ...

in #appics5 years ago

... do have quite a few kids to buy for on my wife's side. My family has never been so big on the presents when I was young, but with a few small kids around the place now, I think it has changed a bit.

The hands down highlight of the day though, was watching my daughter using chopsticks for the first time. While she can't eat any of the sushi, she managed to get macaroni and pieces of sausage into her mouth and ate nearly her entire meal with the sticks. It was pretty impressive as she has only ever watched us eat before.

We have had a bit of an allergy setback and have to spend the next month in some trials with staple foods we thought had already been cleared. She is okay with it, but as a three year old, doesn't really understand how long a month is to go without. Hopefully we can identify the issue and the rash and stomach pain that she gets will go away.

It is tiring on all of us to keep track of all of this, but at least @smallsteps is a generally happy and very smart kid. She was at the doctor on Thursday and the doctor is continually surprised by how advanced she is. One thing she noted last time was that the forest berries she eats are linked to improved brain development and could play a part in her intelligence.

Anything to explain that it isn't genetics :)

This is my first attempt uploading a short video to @appics and I am unsure what the result will be.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]

videos/8a2cb969f7a5572f76d20fa044e0a40f-00001.png%20%0A%0AThis%20is%20my%20first%20attempt%20uploading%20a%20short%20video%20to%20@appics%20and%20I%20am%20unsure%20what%20the%20result%20will%20be.%0A%0ATaraz%0A%5B%20a%20Steem%20original%20%5D&category=lifestyle&hashtags=posh+oc+family+lifestyle+video&author=tarazkp&profileImageUrl=https://s3.us-east-1.amazonaws.com/appics-content/profileImages/1366-1551432526279-640&permlink=appics-v1-appics-im-56036)

Powered by APPICS - visit us at appics.com%20%0A%0AThis%20is%20my%20first%20attempt%20uploading%20a%20short%20video%20to%20@appics%20and%20I%20am%20unsure%20what%20the%20result%20will%20be.%0A%0ATaraz%0A%5B%20a%20Steem%20original%20%5D&category=lifestyle&hashtags=posh+oc+family+lifestyle+video&author=tarazkp&profileImageUrl=https://s3.us-east-1.amazonaws.com/appics-content/profileImages/1366-1551432526279-640&permlink=appics-v1-appics-im-56036)

Sort:  

Does anyone know why @appics sometimes creates so much mess in the post?

I don't know why Appics makes a mess, but thanks for the video. It really put a smile on my face! Go go @smallsteps!

I am wondering if it is because there is too much text? I haven't used any markdown in this or other links either.

I’ve seen that in just about every post.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I have avoided it on about 50%, but not sure what triggers it.

Thanks so much for the video I enjoyed very much

I've read that intelligence is inherited from the mother. However only about 40-60% intelligence is inherited.

But we can just skip the first sentence and blame it on the berries. Or on some days, so that it suits to other purposes, skip the last sentence and blame it on the mother. :)

@smallsteps is just so ready to conquer the whole world with her cheerful and persistent attitude.

I've read that intelligence is inherited from the mother.

I hope for my daughter's sake, this is true.

Supposedly there is an ingredient or two in lingonberries and similar that helps with brain development. I would say that a good diet has effects on mental development in the same way as physical.

I blame the whiny days on the mother. :D

I blame the whiny days on the mother. :D

Obviously. That's basic parenting number one. Been there, done that too.

However, I've also read that creativity is inherited from the father. And genuine intelligence, not something that can be learned from books and in your daughters case I assume she doesn't read scientific books or journals that much yet, is actually very creative. So all your bases are covered either way.

I really hope that the creativity is from my side :D

I see "book smart" as memory intelligence for the most part. Broader intelligence comes down to the application of what one knows to solve the problems one faces. It has to be adaptive and many people who are book smart seem not to have the creative power to adapt. Of course, there are hoses for courses and many types of people are needed as it is unlikely there are many who are truly "renaissance people"

hoses for courses

For insane's sake, further explanation needed.

Ah! That must lack an R. Horses for courses. Never encountered that sentence before.

No need to explain, explained it myself. If my explanation is incorrect, I don't care.

typo. Horses for courses.

It means that some horses have skills on different track conditions.

I better start learning more idioms. Because without knowing them and if there's a typo and I assume something, the whole meaning probably changes to something completely different in my head.

Aaaahhhhhhhh what is she so cute for do something 🤣

I’m not big on the Christmas shopping either. Fortunately my daughter loves shopping so it’s become her job 🤣

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63792.82
ETH 2563.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66