I find myself at the hospital in the early hours returning the sleep/apnea measuring ...

in #appics6 years ago

... device. I hope it recorded something decent. I felt like I woke up more than usual in the night fighting the wires but I’m sure that’s calculated in the test. I got a lot of comments yesterday from people suspecting they might have apnea. All I can say is get the test done. It’s just one night of discomfort but the knowledge that comes from can absolutly increase the quality of life especially if you never feel truely rested. I sleep with a simple plastic bit I have to put in my mouth preventing my lower jaw from closing my throat. It seems to do the trick although I will be sure if it still works when I get the results in two weeks.

fd0ee61d1bed879e40a40f18889db73b

Powered by APPICS - visit us at appics.com

Sort:  

Yeah I'm not surprised last nights sleep was below average - more equipment than usual eh. I guess as long as you were sleeping for some part of the night, there will be some data to process. Hopefully a green light soon enough!

Hope you don’t have any significant desaturations on the monitor.
Reducing collar size is the most appropriate step. You are on the track I believe

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yes this can be a very serious condition, and many may not know they have it.
My younger brother one day fell asleep on a couch and I happened to see... when I noticed him inhaling to breathe BUT no air was going in... it was the craziest thing... I shook him up to move position which helped but his not breathing while sleeping would still occur.

Luckily for him all he needed was to lose some weight, which totally alleviated his sleep apnea. This DOES NOT work for everyone so consult your medic.

Also, this happens to people as they get older, like my aunt. I suggest check up on your loved ones late at night while they sleep.
If you notice them not breathing or having trouble breathing while sleep or really bad snoring this could be signs and time to at least see a doctor for medical advice.

Apnea can damage your heart and maybe brain so take it serious!!

is apnea when you stop breathing whilst sleeping and usually is combined with heavy snoring?

There was a docu I was watching not so long ago about this! Many dont know they have it, and the wife likes it just for that 30 seconds of not snoring hahahahahhaha

I currently use the plastic mouth guard as well and it seems to work. I took the same test and mine turned out “not as bad” as the doctor thought lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

I have heard that too. I have a co worker that has the machine at night now and his wife says he is much more pleasant during the day than he used to be because he is actually getting a good nights sleep now. I hope everything goes well with your tests. I wouldn't mind just having to wear a mouthpiece. Having to do the full machine would be a pain though.

I took the apnea test at a clinic.

Not only was I wired from head to toe, but I was in a bed that wasn't mine, and I could faintly hear the sounds of the five others who were in rooms around me.

However, I slept like a baby, and was informed that my level of apnea does not require any apparatus ... but, I could eliminate my apnea if I dropped about 10 pounds.

I'm slowly working on the latter.

Why does it always involve dropping pounds! never adding :)

I agree completely. We need to find a problem that can only be resolved by adding a few pounds.

It sure will, at least you battled with it last night and now you are up 😊

@exyle, Take care brother and take effective resting time if you are lacking it. Stay blessed.

Posted using Partiko Android

I am currently monitoring my sleep with a phone app that records. I seem to sleep quietly most of the night with a few noisy momenysNext step may be doing one of those studies.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67103.13
ETH 2617.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69