You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Wonders of Whakatane - Birds in my Mom’s Garden

in #aotearoa5 years ago (edited)

My Mom & I back in the day had this:

  • regular bird feeders for sparrows and the like
  • Finch "socks" for yellow finches. They're really pretty. Male is more predominantly colored as in many, but not all species.
  • we had a feeder with woodpecker food in it and every so often we'd get a pileated woodpecker. They are getting somewhat extinct in sone areas
  • hummingbird feeder - had to put vaseline to let ants from trying to eat.

I was am still an amateur bird watcher. I knew already about the really pretty black and white one. Always Been a fave of mine but, alas they don't live here! So I've never seen one in person.

Sort:  

I LOVE pileated woodpeckers. They're huge! We had lots of those on my friends' property on Vancouver Island. I've seen some in Mexico too, but just the smaller ones, who are awesome nonetheless.
I bet I've had finches around, just never paid any attention to them. Same with the thrushes. It always takes someone else to infect me with their enthusiasm.
Hummingbirds are a common sight even in such a poisonous environment as Mexico City. (Not in New Zealand though.) Behind our apartment there is an abandoned lot with some 10ft tall weeds, where they love to hang out and feed on the flowers. They always like to come and check out our place too, but when they come in through the window they may have a hard time finding their way out again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63196.13
ETH 3385.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45