You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: In memory of ANZAC soldier Sidney James Gully, 1898 to 1958

in #anzac6 years ago (edited)

How can anyone fail to be deeply moved after reading the letters your grandfather wrote during the war @kiwideb? I put myself in his mothers position and wonder how I would cope. I'd long for his letters but be very anxious to hear what he was going through even though I am sure he glossed over the harsh realities. Sidney penned many a poignant line but his bravery and strength of character was very evident throughout. The sentences that got to me the most were these. (Quote) "We are a very disreputable lot nowadays. Nothing like the “tin soldiers” we were when on leave in NZ." I think "disreputable" would be the exact opposite to how I (and everyone else) would describe our courageous and strong soldiers.

Your remarkable blog is an extremely fitting way to honour your Grandfather and all soldiers Deb and I'm sure he would have been very proud to read your tribute.

I got goose bumps when I listened to "Now is the Hour." Nothing makes me more homesick for New Zealand than listening to the harmonious singing of our Maori brothers and sisters. This version was particularly touching. Thanks so much for taking the time to write and share this magnificent Anzac Day article. It is even more special because of the personal connections. U @ R)

'LEST WE FORGET.'

Sort:  

There's nothing like hearing the words and feelings of a single person to touch us. But then multiply that by the thousands and it would become more than we could bear, if we let ourselves feel it. The thousands that gladly went to do their duty because they felt it was right, the thousands that were there for their mates, the thousands that hid their fear and despair when they wrote home. It was a truly valiant generation. I think of my youngest nephew who is 18, and it's inconceivable that boys his age and younger had to go through that.

I know what you mean about the music too. Although there isn't a drop of Maori blood in my veins, I'm a kiwi to the core and it's such a part of our heritage that it fills my heart.

So true @kiwideb. Imagine thousands of voices calling as one! The numbers of Kiwi and Aussie soldiers that were killed during the wars has been staggering. It makes me feel so very grateful for every bit of freedom we enjoy and sometimes, even take for granted until the reality checks during Anzac Day and similar commemorations bring Home to us. I’m so glad to see the younger generations joining forces, prepared to put away their devices, get up early and show their appreciation of the cost and great sacrifice made for them.
I do have a little Maori blood but I think anyone who loves music will recognize the unique sound of Maori singers and their music. We are very blessed to have been brought up in such a wonderful country as N.Z. I’m looking forward to returning for another dose of Aotearoa next year hopefully.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 56386.16
ETH 2529.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49