You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: In memory of ANZAC soldier Sidney James Gully, 1898 to 1958

in #anzac6 years ago

Spoken like a true Aussie!

Because he died so young, and I have no memory of him, up till now, he wasn't really part of my internal family history, except as a name. So it was great to be able to get that picture of him from the letters, and the covering document my uncle had put with them. Did you have a look at what war records could be found for your grandpa?

Sort:  

I had a very brief look, but I didn't try too hard. I really wanted to do another 'women in history' post. Plus he wasn't living in Australia then so he'd have been in the British Army.

All the other family connections I thought of would have been in the British Army too, so weren't Anzacs.