Beware of Antminer S9 import Duty tax to USA. This is my personal experience.

in #antminer6 years ago

I bought 3 Antminer S9 from Bitmain back in December. My batch sold for $2750/piece at the time. A month and a half later I see Bitmain shows the first order with 3 miners has been shipped. I quickly go over to UPS and begin to see how all the tracking stages progress, and suddenly I start noticing mentions of Import Duties, Tax ID, and Clearance setbacks. I quickly called UPS and provided all the personal information they required at the time.

I hate giving my SSN online or over the phone for things other than Health or Credit related issues. I simply supplied them with a TAX ID for a corporation I own and it was sufficient to finish the process. Below are screenshots of all I have mentioned for reference purposes.

In the end, I had to pay roughly $80 per miner + $11 for broker services to UPS.

Some users have reported not having to pay anything while others have paid different amounts. This is just my personal experience and a point of reference for all of you in the future who come across these issues and wish to know if it has happened to others before you.

bitmain order.png

tracking info.png

import duty antminer2.png

Sort:  

Maybe ship to home address instead of business address might of saved taxes.

Did you have to set up anything in advance or did you just call up UPS and sort things out when the tracking said you needed you to pay? thanks

Congratulations @hatuey! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60869.98
ETH 2713.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45