๐Ÿ’ Not Just an Antique Shop - Weird Things in My Shop ๐Ÿ’

in #antiques โ€ข 6 years ago

cover.jpg

Today, I had to photograph some of the taxidermy in my shop for a client. While I was doing this, I noticed how strange some of the other items in the shop are! So, I snapped some photos for you to see!

In my cover pic above, you can see a huge Kudu trophy, alongside a gorgeous crystal chandelier. Quite the juxtaposition.


A random taxidermied Budgie. I don't particularly like Taxidermy, but I do like this little birdie ๐Ÿ˜‹

7b0c4c30-6367-430e-aeb2-40162964484c.jpg

Another of my absolute faves. A vintage taxidermied Turtle. This turtle was rented by a film crew when they shot "The Dark Tower" here. I was disappointed as I didn't see him when I watched the film though.

R11400 INCL VAT.JPG

A Cast Iron Piggy Money Bank. Part of one of our capsule collections - once they are sold, we will not get more. Great for gifts, or even as an ornament for the garden.

88040362-2567-4312-8eea-ed85aa390265.jpg

A view into one of our showrooms. Here you can see that we have many, many chandeliers, and some gorgeous antique furniture. You can also see the Steam Punk Transmitter Lamp that I love. Such a cute and quirky piece.

35aaea03-a25a-4603-b5d2-471c522e7c4f.jpg

There are about ten different coloured elephants spotted all over the shop. I especially like this cherry red one. We have pastel pink and sky blue elephants too. Totally wack as decor items, but I can picture them peeking out from around a corner in a super cool retail shop or even a restaurant.

d593bd3a-8e56-4c6e-9d57-99958b337400.jpg

And every now and then, a terribly scruffy bag of bones kitten face will appear too. You may remember Milkshake from some of my previous posts - just an update: he is getting his vaccinations this month, and neutered soon after that. I really hope to find him a loving home soon.

IMG_5545.GIF

Hope you enjoyed this peek into my daily life! Ask me anything in the comments ๐Ÿ˜‹

mewmewfooter.jpg

Sort: ย 

Kitties! :D

hehehe! Kitties everywhere :)

Ok I want the piggy!

cute hey!

Quite an interesting collection. How much is the turtle? I don't want to rent it because I don't have a film I am shooting lol. I want to own it.

the vintage taxidermy is expensive :( about USD$700. It is very special though, and even if it doesn't ever get sold, I'd be happy.

What's $700 to a minnow steemian like me? That's just a year of being here. I'm feeling focused, man. I can see it in my possession already, lol.

more pictures of your cats please!! ๐Ÿ˜บ๐Ÿ˜ป

I wanted to say... whereโ€™s the white elephant? (ba dum tissss)

hehehe! Yup. You are not the first to make the elephant joke.

How's your Steem journey treating you?

itโ€™s been interesting.. iโ€™ve been reading all these posts on haejin/grumpycat/berniesanders/witnesses debate and itโ€™s pretty crazy. have you been reading up on it? Iโ€™m wondering if there will be a change in how SteemIt works. I feel like itโ€™s much harder now that there is more spam / people willingly to pay bots to upvote instead of a more pure system of upvoting power if that makes sense.

Yeah but itโ€™s always been like this. Nothing new. When money is involved people will do anything to earn.

There are some who do it via bid bots, and some who donโ€™t. I used a few when I was a minnow, just to get a little boost on my posts. It was depressing to see $0.50 posts when you spend five hours to make it ๐Ÿ˜ข.

I have learnt though, the more you network the more real votes and interaction you get! ๐Ÿ’“

So true. I admit, I tried the minnow bots out too on my last post. It was my only interaction ahaha for my post. no surprise for me. But yeah, totally agree. networking is key!

Hahaha oh dear, donโ€™t get disheartened. If youโ€™re not posting, you should be commenting! ๐Ÿ’œ I try to comment on the same peoples posts every now and then, and they will come back to return the favour.

Interesting subjects. Especially liked the unusual lamp

It is cool, hey! I also love it :)

ย 6 years agoย (edited)

I like Milkshake...so sneaky :)
How old is the Cast Iron piggy bank? It has an ancient and antique look to it.

he is such a little shit!

The cast iron piggy bank is actually made to look old, but is new! Can you believe that!

Are you for real? It had me fooled. Hahaha. That was good.

yup, the Chinese can reproduce anything. There are a few pieces that you can't tell whether it is new or old, because they are such great copies.

We love the Chinese, they know how to get things done :)

Wow, you really have beautiful thing in your Antique shop. I love the cherry red elephant.

@seyiodus.

thank you babe!

I love that cherry elephant! Working/living with these must be incredible! Nice post!

Yeah, itโ€™s great. Something new and crazy happens every day

Very cool place! Your choices indicate that a coll lady runs it. Peace


Wow!๐Ÿ˜Š๐Ÿ˜Š
I really like the artwork that brings positive ideas closer to people
Must be supported...
I`ve re-steemed!
Thank you for your wonderful work๐Ÿ˜Š

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67918.33
ETH 3740.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69