A test of time

in #antiques7 years ago

Here's a piece of history!
IMG_20170423_153845265.jpg
Wooden fishing lures!
While rummaging through a family members storage not long ago we came across some of these wooden lures... I've heard about them though the years, but never had the opportunity to get my hands on one. Being a fisherman myself I was pretty excited to see this so I got a few pictures and decided to share my excitement!

The original spook


Another spook

Hope you enjoyed this tid bit of information as much as I enjoyed sharing
So until next time this is @mobile-joat signing outIMG_20170829_192130213_HDR.jpg

Sort:  

Theres a lot of anglers who collect those and some of the rarer ones can be quite valuable. Might want to get them checked out. Don't throw them in the old tacklebox! Display cases would be cool.

Followed and upvoted for #fishing

Phil.jpg

Definitely not putting them in the corner... A friend of mine collects them and soon I'll be on the road heading is direction.

Thank you for your participation.

Do they have a lead core? What keeps them from just floating like a bobber? I used to have a hand carved fish decoy that was used for spear fishing and it had a lead belly. It was made by a guy with initials E.P. I think his name was Earl Price but I can't remember now. Im not sure what ever happened to that thing.

I'm not sure of the lead bottom on these lures, but I do know that they used different amounts of lead for depth control. The spook is more of a top water so if there is any in it I don't think it's much.

I have only ever seen one of these lures and it was heavy. At the time I didn't think to ask if it had a lead bottom to keep it from floating...

Definitely a rare find. If you're in the business of collecting these, you definitely want to make sure they are original paint. Without it its worthless.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60840.29
ETH 2577.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57