Worse off than 30 years ago? Not a chance.

in #antilast year

image.png

Yet another person has chimed in to try to persuade me that capitalism has made us worse off than 30 years ago.

Friends, I was in my late 20s thirty years ago. I was there.

Fewer people had microwaves. Boris Yeltsin may have been shocked by American supermarkets then, but they're even better now. Anti-lock brakes were just beginning to appear in low end cars, and only luxury cars had airbags.

We spend less of our income on groceries now.

Knee and hip replacements are commonplace among the middle class, and recovery times are amazingly short.

Air conditioning has become more common, increasing human comfort and saving lives.

The internet had just been opened up for commercial use, and the first smartphone had been invented, but wasn't available to the masses.

I'm really tired of the doomsayers with no real sense of history.

Sort:  

In their defense - I agree 99% with you - democracy and liberty are on the decline. Let's hope it's just a blip

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61124.40
ETH 2666.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60