You could go to jail for giving alms

in #anti-mendicancy5 years ago

Pinoyhood

: the state or condition of a Filipino (Pinoy)

Ohoy [Hello] Steemians!

When I was waiting for my wife outside a local store in San Fernando City, I saw this "no begging" sticker posted near the entrance.

Here's an English translation of the law:

"In the city of San Fernando, it is illegal to beg! Do not give alms!
Anyone who violates the said ordinance will be subjected to penalties such as a fine (3000 PHP) or imprisonment! "

You could go to jail for giving alms [money, food, drinks, clothes, etc] to a street beggar. Do you even know that begging has been prohibited in your city?

The Anti-Mendicancy Law of 1978 was signed by former president Ferdinand Marcos. President Rodrigo Duterte, however, wants to abolish this ordinance. His statement: "I could not even see the rationale (behind the measure against) mendicants... One of the things I really hate is the prohibition of caroling, I tell you."



Let me hear your thoughts about this view. Please comment below. Thank you. ^^

Live great!

TL


Source:



@pinoyhood
Mabuhay!

Social Links


Pinoyhood Facebook Page
Pinoyhood WeKu Blog


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66785.29
ETH 3229.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30