You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: No, You Are Not An Introvert

in #anthropology7 years ago

People are always trying to explain their behavior and feelings, and using a word like introvert or extrovert is easier than trying to make sense of all the reasons to ones behavior. I do believe that genes affect our behavior to some extent, but most people who call them selves "introvert" or "extrovert" could behave completely differently in a different time and place.

E.g. I used to think of myself as a extrovert when I was younger, then at age 16 I moved to a new country where I did not speak the language and I was really quiet for the first weeks until I started to learn some Spanish. But by then most people around me had gotten used to me not talking and started thinking of me as the quiet girl, and they basically stopped talking to me. At first I tried to explain my silent behavior according to the surroundings, that I did not talk much because I did not know the language, but with time I even started viewing myself as a introvert and therefor I started behaving as one. And my behavior has kept changing back and forth from being more social and talkative to more withdrawn depending on my surroundings and the people I am with.

Sort:  

So I do completely agree with you @kyriacos that the environment has a huge impact on our behavior and that labels like introvert and extrovert tells more about our situation than our actual personality. Thank you for writing this post, I really enjoyed reading it! And I can see that you have awoken a lot of conversation :)

Excellent example. Thank you for sharing this

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57296.76
ETH 3055.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32