Anthropology and how we think

in #anthropology7 years ago

Good morning/afternoon steemians!!
I was in class the other day, and I got to thinking "why do I think and live the way I do? And would I be the same person if I was raised elsewhere?"
Well according to my anthropology professor depending on where you live and what customs you do will depict how you think and live! Like the Wari tribe one of the funeral rights is to literally eat their deceased loved ones so they don't get cold or lonely in the ground! But to us that just sounds wrong. But why ilia it that what is wrong for "us" is automatically wrong for someone else? A group of people with there own ways of life. Who are we to judge? Who knows perhaps they're things we do that other groups or cultures find wrong.
Let me know what you think in the comments
Have a great day!
Jojo94

Sort:  

Of course! There are so many ridiculous things that we think and do because it's just part of how we are raised. That is why cultural diversity is such an important thing, because when languages and cultures die, so does a way of thinking.

It would be great if everyone could see like an anthropologist , even better if everyone could internalize two or more cultures, we'd all be a lot more empathetic.

Exactly! I mean I am only a first year anthropology student but my brain is opening to all these possibilities and I feel so weird now thinking that people who thought differently were just weird.... but now I actually want to think like them and join them, I feel an urge to go on a field study and enjoy, learn and expand my knowledge to more than just me and what I know!

I've always been an informal anthropologist, since I was a kid. I just watched people and tried to get into their heads and above everything for a birds eye view to figure out why they acted the way they did. One of my earliest realizations was that, in general, anyone is capable of anything. That kind of realization burdens you with a lot of responsibility, most people are put off by it and it doesn't make for loyal consumers either.

Another huge realization was when I was travelling and ran out of money and ended up staying with some really interesting new friends. One of them said one day "I want to introduce you to one of my friends, come with me". He took me under a bridge nearby and there was a homeless village down there and I was still naive and utterly confused at what was going on. He introduced me to two of the guys who lived there and we spent the day chatting, even cooked dinner together. I was actually scared to talk to them at first. I thought homeless people were crazy, lazy, or on drugs. Well yeah, many are...but is it not the same in an office? How many people really imagine what it's like living exposed to the elements, being treated like garbage and probably having some sort of tragic reasons as to why you have to live that way? Most people do not bother. They leave that work to "freaks and weirdos" like us :-D

I'm going to rewrite this as a full post later.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58617.29
ETH 3164.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44