Who Are You Speaking With?

in #anonymous7 years ago (edited)

On SteemSpeak, I recently noticed that two different "people" used the same slightly off, and odd phrasing of a specific trite phrase.  This and the fact my niece had been over watching MTV's "Catfish, the TV show",  got me to wondering how difficult it would be to change a person's voice online.  Is this the trick of an accomplished hacker or can any ole' person just change their voice at will?

Let's find out...

So, the answer to my question was it is silly easy.  I searched the phrase  "voice changing software", I selected a free software called "Clownfish" went through a simple setup process and was able to change my voice quite simply.  What I am unsure about is how believable the voice would have sounded to others, as it sounded quite odd to me.  There were several options to select some were obviously faked like the robot voice.  Others just changed the frequency.


The lesson learned is remember we don't know who online people are and what they are after.  What you reveal online even in VC opens you up to people you may or may not have chosen to open up to.

I am a pretty open person, this will not change how I interact how I relate to people online, but I am not "looking to date" or wanting anything from anyone in chat, except for a vote once in a while.  :)

If I was risking my heart or money, I would proceed with caution!!!  

Never give, or invest more than you can afford to.


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m2t8Wg5BEhA



Sort:  

The analog way around this is the predetermined password and response. It depends on how serious you are about security.

Good point. Now we just need "changed voice decoder" software to be invented so we know who we're talking to... :)

That is a great idea!

Voice trickery is so scary! Usually people that go to such extents like that are up to no good, so you're smart to be on guard

It was SHOCKINGLY Easy to setup the software

There is the same danger, perhaps worse, with video-altering software that can make a person appear to be doing and saying things... :O

😄😇😄

@creatr

I have some 5.1 headphones and they have a software in it for voice changer, it is very similar to "Clownfish" and even the music can be made from just a normal talk with autotune

:)

I LOVED This. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63743.08
ETH 2657.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87