You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: That's right! I'm gonna be a daddy!

in #announcement7 years ago

Absolutely awesome news, congratulations man! I have a 5 year old son so I'll share a few things I've learned:

It's completely different for everyone. You'll get people telling you all sorts of different things that will or won't happen. That's how it happened for them and/or someone they know. Don't assume it will happen like that for you!

Every child is different and every parent is different, don't expect things to work out a certain way and most importantly don't try to force things to be the way you expected or wanted. Go with the flow and figure out what works best for your child and your family.

Be thankful every day that your child is healthy. As you go through the pregnancy and early months after your child is born you will learn about all of the things that can go wrong which can be devastating for families. I personally know people with children who have a range of disabilities and even terminal illnesses.

It really helps to put in perspective how lucky I am to have a healthy family and I try not to ever take that for granted.

Lastly - learn how to use your time wisely! The biggest change for me after having a child (and I only have one mind you - I don't know how people do it with more!) is that I have so much less free time.

When I look back I almost can't imagine how it used to be like when I didn't have a child and had all the time in the world to do whatever I wanted - and more importantly I think about how I wasted the vast majority of that time!

Now I realize how precious my time is and I try to be very deliberate about how I spend it - like, for instance, all of the time I spend here on STEEM - which I expect will definitely be worth it in the long run.

So again - congratulations! You're in for an awesome and wild ride!

Sort:  

5 star comment. Thanks for taking the time to share these tips. Every child is completely different and do have their own personalities we must negotiate with.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60666.02
ETH 2636.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60