A Bit Of A Disconnect - Where Has @Dber Gone?

in #announcement7 years ago

Hey everybody,

It's been a little while since I've posted anything on steemit, or even had time to jump into chat rooms. For awhile, I had switched my posts to @dberstories, but then even that ended up detracting from my new found hobby.

Recently, all I've been doing with every moment of my free time, is writing on r/writingprompts and maintaining my new subreddit, r/LFTM (Legends From The Multiverse).

This has been, in many ways, uniquely fulfilling for me. Although I love writing about mushrooms, from the start I've obviously been aware that it's an incredibly niche topic. Even my most highly paid out posts ended up with low numbers of overall views relative to the post value, and that's no surprise - Not everyone wants to read super detailed posts about mushrooms.

But what I've discovered, is that a surprising number of people are not just willing, but eager to read escapist short stories written by total strangers - and, I happen to really enjoy writing them.

The result has been a mini-renaissance for me on the reddit platform. My sub has been active for under a month and it has nearly 500 subscribers, who have subscribed exclusively to read my short stories! That's just the most incredible thing to me - and even though it doesn't have the monetary benefit associated with posting content on steemit, it has nonetheless taken over my free time.

To be clear, this is NOT a goodbye post or anything.

I am, and have been, powering down to have liquid steem on hand, but if the market continues to drop, I plan on buying more steem in the future. I'm also quite sure I will post now and again, and may even return to my original posting schedule, especially if my trip to Chile goes well.

But, for now, I can't stop writing these stories - literally writing at all hours of the day, sometimes as many as 5 shorts in a day. I feel super driven about it and want to see how far I can push the subreddit and the whole hobby.

Long and short of it, I will be posting a lot less for awhile. As always a special thank you to the folks @steemstem - for being the start of a MAJOR life change for me. Writing about mushrooms on this blog, doing so consistently and rigorously, changed the way my brain works. It got me over the hump of unhealthy video gaming and has set me on a really cool creative path - all in addition to being an unexpected financial boon, and meeting some incredible people.
Sort:  

goodbye mushroom man. may your venture into short story writing myceliate into something bountiful

Well - goodbye is a very strong word :)

I will be around -just... not a ton. But, I need to inoculate that log, and try to grow me some Shaggy Manes:) So when I get around to doing either of those things i'll be talking about them

I always think it's super important to enjoy what you're doing, so I'm glad you found something! Nevertheless, I'll keep looking forward to posts from you. Enjoy yourself :)

@dber, I will be looking forward to your next post, even if it doesn't come for a while. I am really glad that you are finding success in life and I hope it keeps coming. As well, maybe your passion is writing, like what if the community blows up really big then you could make your life about your passion so for that I have to say to go out and follow it.

So I wish well for you. So until next time!

I enjoyed the short stories I read so far too. Didn't have enough time to read more but I will.

I just watched this video and thought of you! It's a bit out there. I wonder what you think of it.

Cool! If I could use reddit for more than a few minutes without my reflexes just wanting to pull out for some inexplicable reason I'd be there. I love writing too, though 5 a day is a kind of inspiration I have yet to find! Best of luck over there and you'll always have a place with us at steemstem =)

was wondering where you were, I understand your reasons for having to take a break but look forward to learning more when you return xx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63126.26
ETH 2596.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76