A Year Without Teeth

in #anniversary7 years ago

Today is the one year anniversary of having my teeth removed! (Though I'd already had my four top front teeth removed about two years before I had the rest removed.)

This is a video that I took around the time of my tooth extraction. Warning, it may be very graphic and disturbing for some people.

So! A year without teeth!

I don't have dentures because we can't afford them. So I've been having to gum everything.

There are some things that I really miss, but for the most part, not having teeth hasn't been nearly as bad as most people make it out to be.

Hopefully in the near future I'll be able to afford dentures. In the meantime, I'll just keep on chugging along like I have been.

One thing that really seems to surprise people is that most would never even stop to think I don't have any teeth because I speak so clearly. To me, I can hear a lisp I didn't have before, which does get worse the more tired I get, or if something happens to irritate the hell out of my gums that day. Most people don't believe me at all when I tell them I don't have teeth, even when we're just standing there talking. I have to actually show them my lack of teeth, and then they're pretty much lost for words.

So yeah. Being in my twenties and toothless hasn't been nearly as bad as everyone led me to believe it would be. And it's a lot better than if I'd continued trying to save my teeth. They couldn't be saved, and even my surgeon could see that. But other dental professionals kept trying to push me to try to save them because of my age.

Nope. They couldn't be saved, and I'm glad that my husband and I both came to and agreed to that conclusion after it'd been pushed on us. And I'm glad I found an oral surgeon that agreed with us on that, and removed them for me.

A year without teeth, woohoo!

Sort:  

I watched the video. Poor you! I hope your mouth is doing better now. It's great you are so positive. I'm glad you found a doctor that helped you instead of making you suffer through treatments that might not have worked. I've been MIA lately getting my voting power back up. It's still low so I'll drop back in soon and give you upvotes.

Oh no, those treatments absolutely wouldn't have worked. They would've just caused a lot more pain and a lot more money. My husband and I realized that, and found a doctor that realized it, too, and cared more about my recovery than making a buck off of me. Which almost never happens.

My mouth is doing pretty damn good these days. Just wish I could afford some dentures. There are some things that I really do miss, but I couldn't eat those things during the last year or so before having my teeth removed anyways. Because my teeth were so bad.

My teeth almost killed me. So yeah, I'm pretty damn positive about this one, lol!

D'aww. I care about your comments, not your upvotes. You don't have to worry about upvoting my posts. I just love having you comment and interact. <3

was it hurted ?

Huh? Are you asking if it hurt to have them removed?

It hurt very much to have them removed. Many people might not realize it, but having all of your teeth pulled is major surgery.

My teeth were extremely painful before I had them removed. So while having them removed was horrible and painful, ultimately, it hurt much less than keeping them would.

I was literally dying from my teeth being infected.

im sorry , if you good now im glad

Yep, I'm good now! I'm happily toothless!

It'll be better once I get dentures though. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61547.52
ETH 2377.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58