My Favorite 'Slice of Life' Anime Series

in #anime7 years ago (edited)


Besides adventure, fantasy, and horror- I'm a huge fan of the slice of life genre! It's been awhile since I've made any anime related post and I'm excited to share some of my favorite titles.



Space Brothers

To follow his brother Hibito to the moon, Mutta will attempt to become an astronaut at the age of 32. Unaware of his own talent, Mutta chases his dreams to get back in front of his younger brother. (Source: Crunchyroll)

Watching this show reminds me of the relationship that I share with my older brother. We're really competitive and we've always tried to outshine the other with creative thinking. 🤔 Does that make sense? I also enjoy the space facts that are shared throughout the episode and at the end. I'll definitely try getting @guthrie to watch this with me when he's older.



sweetness & lightning

Kohei is a single father and high school teacher who lives with his only daughter. A chance encounter brings him together with Kotori, one of his students. The three of them start to meet together to make meals. None of them know how to cook, but they all love delicious food! (Source: Crunchyroll)

Sweet is the best way to describe this show. Every scene with Kohei and his daughter Tsumugi melt my heart! She's freaking adorable! What makes this anime shine is the fact that there are many heartbreaking moments where Kohei is simply acting as a parent. Parenting is hard and somehow they've been able to capture each moment beautifully. 



March comes in like a lion

This is a gentle tale about people training to regain something. And it is a tale of battle. The main character, Rei Kiriyama, lost his family in an accident when he was young. Now he is a 17-year-old pro shogi player who is burdened with deep loneliness. Rie lives alone in an old town in Tokyo, but after becoming acquainted with three sisters, Akari, Hinata, and Momo, he beings to change little by little. (Source: Crunchyroll)

For anyone who loves Natsume's Book of Friends, you'll enjoy this one. The artwork for this show is beautiful. They're able to capture Rei's emotions in such a raw fashion and you feel yourself sinking into the deep with him. I absolutely adore the Kawamoto sisters and their chubby cats. They've got such warm inviting personalities and you're left feeling less heartbroken after meeting this family. 



Barakamon

BARAKAMON follows the story of Seishu Handa- a calligrapher, who as a punishment from punching another famous calligrapher is outlawed to a small island. As a city boy will Seishu be able to adapt to his new environment? (Source: Crunchyroll)

I stumbled on this show by accident. I wasn't really drawn in by the description but I had nothing else to watch at the time and I'll give anything a shot. Heck, I've finished shows that I've hated but this is one that I'm going to rewatch. The dialogue kills me and there are so many lovable quirky characters. I find myself laughing harder when I'm watching a scene where Seishu struggling to find inspiration. His attitude and weird hysteric mannerisms are worth seeing. 


Are you interested in watching any of these titles?

What's your favorite 'Slice of Life' show?

Thanks for stopping by! 🦊


Sort:  

Unfortunately my anime exposure is mostly limited to Robotech, Star Blazers and Ghost in the Shell. I'm intrigued by the Space Brothers one you shared above though. I'll have to check it out. Thank you for sharing, I've never really looked at "slice of life" shows before.

Yeah, it's super refreshing and stories are told a little differently. Psycho Pass is also a really good watch.

Thanks for sharing.. voted..
PS: you 've got big eyes and they are beautiful. :P

Thanks for reading and your kind compliments! Sometimes I try to do my makeup a certain way to make my eyes look smaller. 😆

Oh my, Sweetness and Lightning. My favorite moment had to have been when Tsumugi was walking along the lines on the road so the sharks wouldn't get her. Excellent show.

OMGOSH! That's my favorite scene too! She's such a cutie!

Barakamon! I need to watch this! Love the Crunchyroll network as well!

It's good! Yeah, crunchyroll has made my anime viewing much easier. I still use other sources but it's my main. :)

haha Me too! Lovely Monday to you beautiful!


Upboat is a friendly half-human, half-robot which hopes to help promote the better posts of Steemit by trying to ensure they get the recognition they deserve.
@UPBOAT looks for numerous signals before deciding on who to UPBOAT and is likely to summon our robot friends to share some robot love with you to show affection.


I've been at sea for 4 days and have given 52 upboats!
PLEASE HELP @UPBOAT STAY AFLOAT ON THE STEEMIAN SEAS BY DELEGATING SPARE SP OR PATCH WATER LEAKS BY UPBOATING.

Have a smug upvote.
Banner

Hahah, cute! Thanks.

This post has received a 8.57 % upvote from @lovejuice thanks to: @upboat. They have officially sprayed their dank amps all over your post rewards. GOOD TIMES! Vote for Aggroed!

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Aug 06. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $11.97 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Aug 06 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I need to see that anime <3

Hey @vermillionfox, I hope all is well.

My favorite Slice Of Life anime so far is definitely the Clannad series. It's a very emotional roller coaster ride. I encourage you to watch it if you haven't.

From the list of your favorite Slife Of Life anime, I was planning to watch Barakamon and Space Brothers. I love funny anime so I'm definitely looking forward to seeing Barakamon.

Anyways nice post and keep sharing!

Yes! I've seen Clannad! You'll enjoy both series. Thanks for checking out this post! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60787.40
ETH 2994.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82