Kakegurui - An anime for fetish lovers

in #anime7 years ago (edited)


The title of Kakegurui popped up on my Netflix account while I was on vacation. I was intrigued by the cover image since it gave me a horror themed vibe, so I decided to check it out. Netflix original series are sometimes a hit or miss for me. This ended up being a big hit and I’m excited for the release of season two! 

The story for this anime takes place in a private academy where the students are placed in a hierarchy determined by their skill in gambling. If a student falls into debt them they become a “pet” (slave), receiving a life plan presented to them by the student council and being subjected to bullying.

The main protagonist, Yumeko, is a transfer student who upsets the school’s social hierarchy by engaging in a series of high rise gambles and risking everything. She wins some, loses some, and turns the whole school upside down.

Check out the trailer below. 

The series overall is aesthetically pleasing. The opening theme for the anime is fun to watch. The characters are a little off the wall and situations escalate quickly but I find the anime oddly refreshing. If you’re into thrills and psychological twists then I highly recommend this anime for you.


Thanks for reading.

What are your favorite Netflix Original Series? 🦊

Sort:  

I was hoping to find someone to talk about Kakegurui. Found you! I really love the anime and the way they work every character but i was expecting for more in the final episode. Do you like the final? Btw my favorite game was the one with Itsuki Sumeragi.
Upvote with love for you

Nope, I didn’t like it. Thanks so much for the upvote. :)

This anime looked interesting until I read the synopsis about it just being about a school where kids gamble. XD I saw the first ten minutes of the first episode and it seemed over the top and crazy for simply playing cards. But reading this perhaps I'll give it a second chance and watch more than ten minutes before I turn it off. XD

its totally crazy but really intriguing, they come up with some interesting gambling games :P

It’s so over the top but it’s hard not to keep watching. I’m also not a big gambler so I found it interesting to see the games that they would come up with. I will almost always finish a show even if it sucks. It payed off for Hunter x Hunter because it got good but whatever you do, don’t watch Devilman crybaby on Netflix...I watched the whole thing and I didn’t like it. It was hard to follow.

I totally watched Kakegurui from start to finish yesterday and I actually really liked it. I enjoyed how insane they got over gambling, it made things interesting and fun. When Yumeko went crazy she almost reminded me of a Hellsing character. Like when Alucard goes crazy when he's trying to find a vampire to fight. Lol. It was suhweet. And I already totally watched Devilman crybaby. It was really dark and really really screwed up. o.o

Yeah!! She does look like one of the characters from Hellsing...maybe that’s why I liked it. Yeah, Devilman crybaby was much darker than what I expected. I like dark but I wasn’t digging it.

Waw very amazing. I like it.

Oh man, I love this anime. I really didn't think I would be into the whole gambling thing, but it was surprisingly addictive. I love the style/aesthetic, and the intro too!
Totally thrilling, sorta turned me on lol. I love the whole slave aspect, and how it was all totally sexual but not haha.

I know!!! So addictive! I don’t even know how to gamble and I still found it fascinating! The intro is so fun!
I thought it was funny when Yumeko did the kitty act and I have a hard time believing that the series is rated TV-14. My mind would be blown if I was watching this at that age.

Haha yeah, I think the kitty one was my favorite scene haha, I love catgirls! I dont gamble or know how either, but the games they played were so interesting. I wanna watch it again!

I watch the whole season a few weeks ago, very intense @vermillionfox. If you like gambling anime, you should check out kaiji. That is also a good anime.

I’ll check it out! I’m pretty open to suggestions of any new or old series.

Thanks for the recommendation! My son and I were looking for a new series to watch, this looks like something right up our alley💜

You’ll love it!

I personally wasn't a huge fan of this anime. While the animation and the character designs are great, and while the opening is one of the most stylish things I've ever seen, the actual show failed to convey the same amount of tension that I'd want from a gambling anime.

I think this is largely because the main character never feels like they are in any danger of losing something tangible, since even when she does lose, that doesn't really effect her emotional state. By comparison, a similar gambling anime like Kaiji feels like it has real life and death stakes, and in my opinion more creative gambling games that give themselves more time to establish the rules and build tension over multiple episodes.

But man- that animation, right? I really hope these animators get more work in the future, because the production values are top notch.

You’re the second person to recommend Kaiji so I’ll be checking that out soon. Honestly, I enjoyed this anime just for the aesthetics. Netflix has kind of failed in a lot of the anime that they’ve released. Most are CGI and it’s weird to watch.

Definitely give Kaiji a try (๑✧‿✧๑). I've got similar thoughts on it as alberenza. I finished the first season of Kakegurui, and was underwhelmed by the lack of tension. I kept watching, thinking it would change down the line, but it remained predictable. Which seems antithetical to the idea of gambling.

Kaiji on the other hand--well, I don't wanna spoil anything, so I'll leave it at that (๑˃‿˂).

Cool, I'll check it out @vermillionfox! I was looking for some new series to watch. Thanks for this short and handy presentation, I very much appreciate it! Love, Klaudia

I hope you enjoy it! It’s a quick easy watch! :)

although i am not a fun of that kind of anime i really liked and enjoyed this one and i want badly the season 2 to come out

Hopefully it will be good!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63287.47
ETH 2569.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81