See Throughs - THE ANIME

in #anime7 years ago

So today I'm reporting another show that I had watched. This one, this particular one sure is interesting. As always it is another Anime show and the said Anime is still airing. The Anime that I'm talking about here is the Anime titled Citrus... F***... What did I just watched?!!

image

Oh my, Oh my, Oh my~!

Before I start this short reaction/review/opinion post I just want to clarify to people that I am a male, a straight male. I am just trying out some genres that I don't really watch recently. I am afraid that people might think that I'm a homo because the last post and today's post are reviews of shows that are targeted to female audiences. Well, I really liked Clamp's work even I do not watch or read all of their works( I just watch numbers of pieces) but this one, I just tried it out. Hope you guys find this show interesting too with this post, with all that said, I will start this post.


image

Citrus is an Anime adaptation of a monthly manga magazine in Japan named Comic Yuri Hime. So with just the name of the company of where it is published , you can already tell that this series is a Yuri series. For those people who do not understand what the word Yuri is, Yuri basically is what the Japanese people call the relationship between two female. In other words, Yuri means lesbians.

The way the Japaneses portrays Yuri is really interesting. This isn't actually the first show that I had watched a show in this genre. I had watched at least four of these kinds of show and this one was the most recent. The Japanese portrays Yuri as the same as any other kind of love like with a man and a woman in an innocent way. Personally, I am not really bothered with two women being in love with each other, I'm more disturbed with the male to male concept. I do not know why but when I watch p**n(occasionally, everyone does too I guess) I do enjoy watching female to female interactions (XD) but feel grossed out with male to male. Now with you reading this, maybe you feel a little grossed out on me, XD.


image image

Apparently, I researched about the hard copy versions of the said show but somehow when I Googled it Ifound two mangas with the same title. I do not know what happened here but I guess that the two books didn't intended to copy one another's titles because the two have worlds of difference in their plots. There aren't much information about the author as well other than his tweeter that posts almost nothing about him/her but promoting his/her work.

BTW, here is the Tweeter link just in case you want to see, its in Japanese so if you want to know something about that Tweeter that you cannot understand, just ask me, i can read it for you:


https://twitter.com/_saburouta?lang=en

Oh, it can be translated to English, I'm sorry, do not bother asking me, XD.

My thoughts about the show. And how about it's grade?


image

I did liked Citrus. It is an Anime that made me want to keep on watching it unlike other Anime shows that had been released these past years. During these past years, I had been always complaining that there aren't much good Animes being released and that lead me to patronizing the western cartoons more (and I didn't regretted it).

If you ask me if I will recommend it to other people, my answer will be yes and no.

Yes, because its interesting. The graphics is good, not really an original drawing style but still it is something that I can call good. The animation and how the scenes are approached is also good. And the story...well, the story hesitates me to give a full yes.

The story is good but its not something that I can suggest for the general audience. I think a viewer should have a profound rationality or at least a minimal understanding on the characters so they will not judge the show. Let's be honest here, same sex relationship is a sensitive subject and not handling it properly or understanding the matter could lead to something else.

I mentioned in my profile(somewhere there in my profile) that I liked Steven Universe. One of the things that made me like Steven Universe is how Rebecca Sugar and her staff handles sensitive subjects in their show with out being provocative. There is this character named Garnet in Steven Universe and this character is made up of two female characters that are also in love in each other. In other words, Garner is made up of two lesbians. Hahaha. But even so, I do not find the character bad or awkward. And if you think of it, Steven Universe is a show where is more targeted to young audiences, audiences 7 and up at least. I really find that impressive.

And so for today's Anime's Score.


I gave it 6.8 and that is still a high score from me despite of the show not being a general patronage show because of the quality of the work. The music like the opening song and the back ground music are good and so is the over all atmosphere of the show. Should you watch it? Based on my comment and opinion above, it depends, if you can take it, watch it, if no pass up to it and watch Steven Universe instead. Steven Universe is a really good show BTW.


video

# Thank you for reading this post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58990.94
ETH 2670.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44