Sort:  

You know, I sometimes think of how weird watching Ranma 1/2 would be today, with stuff like uncensored boobs just showing up on screen, and not being sexualized, just sort of being there. It's really evident Ranma 1/2 is the product of a different era, so to speak.

Also, one wouldn't recommend such a long series for this context.

And yeah, I know I'm joking, and thanks! :)

lol, I wasn't being entirely serious. It is indeed a long series. With a loaded premise, at that! ^_^;

Even though it was the first anime I saw, and I was probably about 12 when I saw it -- and by then I was already into Tarantino and mid-century foreign films -- I wouldn't recommend it as a first to anime noobs either unless I knew their tastes tended towards more zany entertainment with a martial arts focus. Heck, it was introduced to me as "something weird I might like." Anyway, I think I just take any opportunity to mention it because I see it as a highly underrated classic. <3

As for uncensored boobs on screen, hahaha, you make it sound like it was common and gratuitous... when in actuality, each instance of that casual toplessness (always Ranma) served as a marker in character development. And in hindsight, it might have also been a statement about the ol' toplessness double standard. But it became gradually less common as he grew into his situation. Then he found out those boobs could get him discounts, lol

In the words of Sally from Third Rock From The Sun: "They seem to have more power when they collide!"

My point on the nudity was exactly how it wasn't gratuitous. If anime today has boobs, then it wants to draw attention to them. Anime from the early 90s and onwards had breasts and even nipples as just part of the scene, as just something "normal" that's there.

And yeah, I like Ranma, but I think most people prefer a more continuous and less episodic content. I for sure do, though Gintama's continued and massive success might argue otherwise, heh.

Oh I see, I misread. Yea by comparison, the lingering gratuitous boob and panty shots are certainly more ridiculous these days. I wonder where it all went wrong...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63014.19
ETH 3071.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83