Spring, Season of Sequels! 5 shows I'm definitely going to watch Spring 2018!

in #anime6 years ago (edited)

Starting of this post with a very much anime-like title, I'd like to talk with you about some of the new airing anime this spring season that I'm most excited about!

I, probably like many others, usually spend the last few weeks of the anime season preparing for the next season, scouting out sequels, OVA's, and potentially cool shows. Often times I will add a whole bunch to my to-watch list, remove half of them once the new season actually starts, add a whole other bunch, and then maybe watch 4 or 5 shows. That's how you'll get something like this:
image.png

As my clickbait title suggests, however, there are 5 shows that I want to talk with you about! And seeing as the title alreay mentions that there's sequels involved, I'll just come out and say it:

4 out of 5 of my picks are sequels.

I don't really know what else to type here, except a small note: you might not like sequels. You might not like the things I like, and I probably don't like everything you like. That's cool, in my opinion, and I would love to hear what shows you are excited about!

Let's go!

#1: Boku no Hero Acedemia 3rd season

image.png

Source: Myanimelist

The third season to the anime that took the anime mainstream by storm with its first two seasons is going to be a big one, 25 episodes (split between Spring and Summer seasons). I really liked the previous seasons and I'm slowly working my way through the manga, so I'm excited to see what will happen!

Action, Comedy, School, Shounen, Super Power

#2 Tokyo Ghoul:re

image.png

Source: Myanimelist

Tokyo Ghoul was one of the first anime that really got to me with the story, starting with a killer first episode and a cool opening, and the second season (Root-A) took the psychological thriller aspect to a whole new level! A thing I have with good shows is that I don't want it to end, and thus don't watch the ending. I know, it's not really logical. Whatever. 12 episodes, another amazing intro, and a whole new point of view starting immediately from the first episode!

Action, Drama, Horror, Mystery, Psychological, Seinen, Supernatural

#3 Shokugeki no Souma: San no Sara - Toutsuki Ressha-hen

image.png

Source: Myanimelist

I like food, I like anime, and I like the way this anime (and manga) combines the two, making an almost educational, funny, ecchi series with plot and amazing art! The thing I don't like about SnS is the way the names keep getting longer...
Third plate after Second plate is logical, but adding Toutsuki Ressha-hen instead of either making the season 25 episodes from the beginning, or adding another plate (Fourth plate for fourth season), just seems a bit weird to me.
I'm expecting this sub-season to have 13 episodes, rounding Third plate to 25 episodes total.

Ecchi, School, Shounen

#4 High School DxD Hero

image.png

Source: Myanimelist

Okay, listen. I know it's kind of weird to just blatantly add Highschool DxD to my list seeing as it has a reputation for ecchiness in the mainstream anime community in the same way that people will recommend Death Note to first time anime watchers that want to go beyond the trinity of Bleach, One Piece and Naruto.

We get it, you (might not) like Highschool DxD. I personally love it. Be it the anime, manga or light novel, I'm up to date with everything and have read the Lightnovels multiple times. I love the story, the character development, the different religions and pantheon's thrown together, and sure, I like my fanservice. I'm really interested in the new art style, and I can't wait for the 13 new episodes!

Action, Harem, Comedy, Demons, Romance, Ecchi, School

#5 Devils Line

image.png

Source: Myanimelist

Wow! Not a sequel! If I'm totally honest, this show first caught my eye because the image they use looks really clean, and because I haven't watched anything vampire related in a while. I like the idea of half-vampires, living almost Tokyo Ghoul like unnoticed in society.

I'm fully aware that this might turn out to be one of the shows that I end up not watching after the first episode, and yet I still wanted to put it on the list. The manga seem to be doing well, so I'm willing to give it a shot!

Action, Supernatural, Drama, Romance, Vampire, Seinen

Those are my 5 picks for this season! Please let me know what anime you are going to watch, and also please let me know what you thought of this post (format), since it's my first one like this!

See you next time!

Sort:  

this show first caught my eye because the image they use looks really clean

That was exactlywhat I was thinking after I saw the guy with the gas mask (was that a gas mask?) Lol Great list

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by sean from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64344.88
ETH 2629.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83