You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "The Garden Kingdom" Characters: Enity

in #anime6 years ago

Beautiful artwork!!! Stunning. Looking forward to seeing more of it. My daughter is a budding artist, I'm going to share your work with her so she can get some inspiration. It looks like you have a manga-esque feel to the work....

Sort:  

Yes, I try not to let my work be completely influenced by manga and anime, but a Japanese cartoon style just happens to be what visually appeals to me most often, and it's what ends up getting finished most often as well.

On another note, if you'd like her to view work which influenced my style, I was most influenced by 90s-00s J-roleplaying games when I was a kid. Things like Legend of Zelda, Chrono Trigger, and Final Fantasy... which is Yusuke Nakano, Akira Toriyama, and Yoshitaka Amano respectively. There's a lot of others I can write down if you'd like (since there's at least a dozen or more). All Japanese video game artists... and only some manga/anime.

My daughter is right into manga and japanime. We’ve been playing Zelda heaps here (how good is Breath of the Wild?!?). I remember playing FF back in the PS1 days, but never got into it (time constraints mainly) and don’t have any manifestation of a PS since.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Aww... I unfortunately don't have a Switch console, so I couldn't play BotW myself (I ended up watching a YouTube "movie" of the game being played through). The story is really good though, so I'm sure the game play just intensifies the experience.

The early Final Fantasy games really did need some time devotion for level grinding which my lonely childhood self had plenty of. The characters Amano sketched were unique and their personalities came through even when reimagined into rudimentary pixel art. I possibly love Final Fantasy more than any other game franchise simply because of his art.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64540.89
ETH 3166.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58