The Night Is Short, Walk on Girl | Movie Review

in #anime6 years ago

nightshort.jpg

I love this movie.

The Night is Short, Walk on Girl, also known as Yoru wa Mijikashi Aruke yo Otome is an animated movie directed by Masaaki Yuasa and it is based on the novel of the same name written by Tomihiko Morimi.

gungirl.jpg

It's about two unnamed characters, one boy we call "Senpai", and the girl we call as "Otome". Senpai finally decided to confess his feelings to Otome, and he tries to chase her as she is having a lively night out. For some reason, the night seems to stretch out to last for a whole year, and they meet many eccentric people along the way.

drunkboi.jpg

The art was a sight for my sore eyes, in my opinion. Nowadays the art used in anime is used to define details, but the color and the art style was so simple! I noticed that they sometimes use a single color to color the background when you're supposed to feel something.

winegirl.jpg

It was hilarious seeing Senpai and Otome go through the night, and I didn't know if I was going to handle the second hand embarrassment that I would get when I see Senpai's predicaments. While Otome was having the time of her life, Senpai was down on his luck.

I also love how the characters are connected to each other! Like there's one scene where a guy is crying about a girl, and apparently he was referring to the girl who's engaged, and the pervert is her dad.

When Senpai gets all alone, he starts talking about stuff I didn't expect. He starts talking about the realest things, and he confesses that he doesn't even know the girl's name! He starts panicking and asking himself if it's really love that he's feeling, or he's so desperate that he wants someone to love him.

In the end, they do end up with going on a date. It was a nice ending to wrap up the crazy night that has happened to them.

The music was also really great! I had the song by Asian Kung-Fu Generation stuck in my head for a long while after watching. Needless to say, I did watch this movie again a lot of times already.

Do I recommend people to watch this? Yes

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58431.17
ETH 2653.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44