You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Review of The End of Evangelion, Or How I Learned to Stop Worrying And Love the Apocalypse

in #anime7 years ago

The entire Evangelion franchise is Anno's self-masturbatory ravings about how he felt when he was depressed. End of Evangelion is no different. Anno used Shinji as a means to humiliate a type of Evangelion fan with the scene that everyone is familiar with, which is using the characters as a mouthpiece for whatever statement he had to make, rather than writing a self-contained story.

The end of End of Evangelion is similar to this in that it has elements of social commentary, but no explanation for the insane plot. As a creator, Anno took the easy way out by doing this. It's easier to criticise people than to create a consistent and wholesome story.

Sort:  

Exactly. The problem with Eva is that Anno sacrifices too much plot consistency to get his message across. To a certain degree this has been corrected by the fans coming to a consensus about what happened in the story... but it is very distracting and it lead to a shit ton of theory crafting that detract from the message of the show. The first time I watched Eva I had so many questions and by the time I reached episode 20 I realized I would not be getting the answers. Now I have a certain idea about the events in the show but I couldn't get to that point just by watching the show. Rahxephon, that Evangelion ripoff has that problem too magnified a hundred fold.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64400.67
ETH 3506.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53