Netflix's Death Note

in #anime7 years ago

So, I watched the Netflix Death Note movie yesterday. Now, Im watching through the anime, and I think I know why American renditions of games and anime are so terrible. Most of the characters in anime and games are interesting and quirky. They have a general theme, but anime is really good at pointing out the little imperfections. When hollywood gets ahold of it, their acting is good, but they translate the character through normie eyes. This makes the movies fall into a form of uncanny valley. They are too weird for normies, but too normie for anime fans and gamers. Thus, no one likes them.

What do y'all think?

Sort:  

Great. Thanks for sharing. I'm starting to follow you.

Wow I watched Deathnote last night, too! I mostly enjoyed it. Was bugged by the mainstreamy (what you'd call "normie" I think) black & white way of thinking. I was extremely surprised and saddened by the girlfriend becoming so murderous. Especially since our introduction of her was that she ran up to attack a bully to defend someone! So then later she wants to murder good people? No way! That said, I did find myself caring about the main character, being charmed by the masked investigator, and finding the ending super clever.

Yea, the term "normie" is just the mainstreaming of extraordinary characters. If you watch the anime series, which is on Netflix as well, the characters are all extraordinary, especially Light, who is more than capable of matching L every step of the way.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57102.05
ETH 2348.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33