Akatsuki no Yona anime review

in #anime7 years ago

Disclaimer: This is an amateur review did a day after watching the anime and did in one sitting without much thought. Read and believe at your own risk. You've been warned.

Story - 5
Akatsuki no Yona follows the life of a young princess after the death of her father and treason acted upon by her beloved cousin.
The story, then, is about how she overcame the situation thrown to her by the harsh reality and, while doing that, building her reverse harem and saving some towns.
As she travels town through town, she realizes her ignorance and, with that, serves as a challenge to perhaps look at things in an objective manner, albeit perhaps only just slightly, since she's emotional.
But of course! She's a young girl, after all. She needs her prince charming, I mean, princeS charmingS to save her when in distress, and her saving them through some conveniences orchestrated by the author just because.
Nonetheless, it was still enjoyable, save for the plot armor stacked multiple times, of course!
"This gal is dangerous! But oh, her eyes! Oh my god! Her eyes! They make me scared! Better not touch her even though I can just kill her or confine her somewhere since she's just a little girl." Yeah. That's logical. I mean, you just plotted for 20 years to get your position today and remained hidden from the public(strikethrough) capital, meaning very cautious, for 10 years so you'll just ignore a potential threat.
Anyway, at the end of the anime, although we were not exactly shown what her real goal is, there is at least a plot progression and some developments that happened.

Characters - 5
All of the characters are actually generic to the T. Perhaps the only difference from most anime I see nowadays is that there is at least some development in most of them, particularly Yona, albeit most felt fake, most especially her harem members.
I mean, the white dragon alone can be summed up as a one dimensional character. The bishounen genius can be summed up as the tsundere archetype. The blue dragon, the kuudere archetype. The green dragon, the flirting sh*t archetype.
As for the thunder person, I guess that he has quite an interesting part in him but it is overshadowed by the show not giving focused on it, so it was still not really passable. The only reason I gave it a 5 is because of two things.
One, Yona's determination to change, which was physically shown by the ending of the last arc, and two, cliche flashbacks by the generic characters. These are all.
Oh, right. I also like the variety of the attitudes of the dragon people, to how they reacted to Yona. I...guess that's it.

Art - 6
Good. The few battle scenes are quite alright...yeah, right. Actually, I have a very low standard in terms of art and animation. I just like the eyes of Yona. That's all. There are many still animations, faked to be a real animation by moving the image and a talking mouth or some sort.
And the direction sh*t are quite alrighht. Passable, but not something great. I'm really torn if I should give this a 5 or a 6 or a 7 so I'll just give it a 6.

Sound - 7
Very nice soundtrack but the background music sometimes overpower the things happenning on-screen, or their sounds, due to their loudness, which could ruin things but...I guess it's alright. Perhaps that's just me anyway and I enjoy the chinese music anyway. And the voice actors and actresses did a good job. Yona's voice suits her...sometimes, or perhaps most of the time? Anyway, I think it fit what her actions are doing. Again, I have low standards on sound.

Enjoyment - 7
It's anime! Of course I will always enjoy it. This anime, in particular, is more enjoyable than the average (would put it at 6 if it's just average).

Total - 6
Overall, I think it's an above average show. Quite enjoyable but there are still more better than it. Quite alright as a time waster but not really recommended.

Sort:  

Congratulations @kalp456! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @kalp456! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61577.64
ETH 3448.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53