My thoughts on Re:Creators (Summer 2017)

in #anime6 years ago

It's a few days later now than I expected but here's the promised post on the anime Re:Creators. It's not the newest show (out for about half a year) but I've heard many positive things about it so I thought that I needed to catch up. And I'm not regretting ist, I really loved the show. But first, have the summary (presented by MyAnimeList):

85469l.jpg

Humans have designed countless worlds—each one born from the unique imagination of its creator. Souta Mizushino is a high school student who aspires to be such a creator by writing and illustrating his own light novel. One day, while watching anime for inspiration, he is briefly transported into a fierce fight scene. When he returns to the real world, he realizes something is amiss: the anime's headstrong heroine, Celestia Yupitilia, has somehow returned with him.
Before long, other fictional characters appear in the world, carrying the hopes and scars of their home. A princely knight, a magical girl, a ruthless brawler, and many others now crowd the streets of Japan. However, the most mysterious one is a woman in full military regalia, dubbed "Gunpuku no Himegimi," who knows far more than she should about the creators' world. Despite this, no one knows her true name or the world she is from.
Meanwhile, Souta and Celestia work together with Meteora Österreich, a calm and composed librarian NPC, to uncover the meaning behind these unnatural events. With powerful forces at play, the once clear line between reality and imagination continues to blur, leading to a fateful meeting between creators and those they created.
(MAL Rewrite)

The story sounds interesting, right? And it is! Who didn't want to see fictional characters with completely different attributes and abilities fight in the "Real World"? That was my thought at least and the main reason (aside from nice fight scenes) to watch this show. I have to warn you though, the exposition is kinda slow at times with pretty much dialogue so if you just came for the action that was shown right away in episode one, you might get bored. But if you're interested in theories of us being gods or more precisely creators of many living worlds, the dialogue will entertain you as much as the fight scenes that will reward you in the end.
And man, these sure are great. Besides being really well animated they're even scripted amazingly well. A major part of the glory comes from the antagonist who is the most badass one that I've seen in a while. She seems invincible throughout most of the show and has so many cool abilities. And I mean, she's playing the violin with a machine gun and a scimitar.
Her musical theme is awesome, too, by the way. Just like all of the soundtrack is which is not really a surprise because it's composed by Hiroyuki Sawano. Opening one and two are also by him and I really love them both. I'm going to link the full version of both of them for you:

Opening 1
Opening 1

Opening 2
Opening 2

Maybe you'll get excited just by listening to these great songs.
Since I don't want to spoil you too much, I won't say more about the other characters apart from that they all are very well written but they also represent all the clichés that come with the specific trope that they are in. The ending is a little cheesy and was apparently quite the letdown for many people. For me, it wasn't that bad because in my opinion they couldn't have done anything other the way they pictured the antagonist but I also understand if some of you didn't like it.

I hope you enjoyed reading my thoughts on this show. If you're interested, I gave it a 10/10 because I really liked the idea and even the minor flaws couldn't lower my enjoyment of this show. I definitely have to recommend it. If you're interested in what I'm watching this season, I recommend checking out my last post or visiting my Profile at MyAnimeList.

Have a nice day and see you next time.

Sort:  

It's interesting to hear some more thoughts on this show! I really enjoyed it as well though I did have some issues with it.

I actually really enjoyed the ending as well, and the show also started phenomenally in the first few episodes, but for me it's the midsection that drags some plot points out too much that really ate away at my patience. I felt that some of the expositions, fights, and misunderstandings weren't really necessary and I would have been happier if they had cut some content. Perhaps they could have given the script at least one more rewrite to make the show shorter, and that would have really made this series something special. Other than that, the fights and the music as you said make the show really entertaining overall!

I know what you mean, sometimes it was too much dialogue, even for me. But the worst thing is that the German subs on Amazon were horrible so that I didn't understand some conversations at all -.-

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61680.81
ETH 3443.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51