You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Anime: Dubbed or Subbed?

in #anime7 years ago

Got to second all of those recommendations.

I tend to avoid dubs myself, but there are some exceptions. The oldest probably being the Slayers franchise. The english voice actors did a FANTASTIC job with that one at a time when all dubbing seemed to be done by the lowest paid amateurs a studio could find (which makes sense, the money wasn't there for expensive productions)

More modern anime has the budget for better voice acting, but the second pitfall that comes up is how it's translated. With a anglified sub you eventually learn some of the words and can re-translate the meaning to something more appropriate. If a dub changes things to be more palatable for an english audience then the original intent will be completely lost in translation. At the same time, this translation may in-fact portray the intent better for an english audience that may not understand the vocal inflection in japanese voices. Sarcasm, for example, could be lost on an English audience watching a sub.

Subs are generally the best way to go, but there are some benefits to dub beyond being lazy. Being a seasoned anime watcher, with some understanding of Japanese, I still sometimes wish I could leave the room to grab a drink while leaving the show running.

Sort:  

Thanks for your reply. I will see if I can find a copy of the Slayers series/show. I haven't found one dubbed anime that didn't sound horrible. The germans and French also like dubbing. Sometimes when I am on vacation I try to watch american shows that are dubbed but man o' man it's just painful to watch.

I actually found the English voices to be better in Slayers. The main character, Lina Inverse, has a slightly too squeaky voice in the japanese version. It's about the only one I'd recommend watching dubbed. Even with higher budgets, they're better but not great these days.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59737.47
ETH 3186.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43