[Manga] Nanatsu no Taizai (Seven Deadly Sins)

in #anime7 years ago

The "Seven Deadly Sins," a group of evil knights who conspired to overthrow the kingdom of Britannia, were said to have been eradicated by the Holy Knights, although some claim that they still live. Ten years later, the Holy Knights have staged a Coup d'état and captured the king, becoming the new, tyrannical rulers of the kingdom. Elizabeth, the king's third daughter, sets out on a journey to find the "Seven Deadly Sins," and to enlist their help in taking back the kingdom.

source: Nanatsu no Taizai Mangarock

About:

Nanatsu no Taizai (Seven Deadly Sins) is a Japanese manga series written and illustrated by Nakaba Suzuki. It has been serialized in Weekly Shonen Jump since October 2012 and is published by Kodansha. Nanatsu no Taizai was adapted into a 24 anime episode series by A-1 Pictures from October 2014 to March 2015. While a second season is currently running at the time of writing.

Thoughts:

When I first heard of this show, I was immediately reminded of Full Metal Alchemist's Seven Deadly Sins. That series was beyond awesome btw so check that out! Unlike FMA though, Nanatsu no Taizai's Seven Deadly Sins are the main characters and the focus of this anime series so they're expected to be the good guys. The story starts off with Elizabeth, a princess of some kingdom, who sets out on a journey to find the Seven Deadly Sins to enlist their help in taking back her kingdom after a successful coup d'etat of the kingdoms Holy Knights. Luckily enough, she run into one of them and it's none other than the Captain of the Seven Deadly Sins, Meliodas. From their on out, they set out a journey to gather the remaining six members.

Nanatsu no Taizai is one of those big journey kind of adventure shounen anime series. The main plot is to gather all the members of the Seven Deadly Sins and together with their help, end the rebellion of the Holy Knights. In a sense, it's pretty straightforward. But what the show lack in a storyline they make up with their fun, interesting lovable characters and great battle scenes. All of the Sins have their distinct and unique personalities which surprisingly works alongside others. The Sins were also introduced as someone who have above average power, which frankly is a good move since it saves some time in showing some filler trainings in order to get stronger. Every one of them also gets a decent storyline so you can't help not get attached to every one of them.

The battle scenes in Nanatsu no Taizai is very well done. The animation and character movements are smooth. Since most of the Sins came from a different race, it's nice to see a mixture of different abilities and fighting style. The music is surprisingly okay.

Overall, Nanatsu no Taizai is a decent anime if you don't mind cliches and a linear storyline. Personally I think it has the potential to have been big in the anime world with it's fun loving characters and their various skills together with the amazingly done art and animation. However, Nanatsu no Taizai plays it safe by going the generic linear and predictable path. There's nothing really wrong with that, but with a lot of action adventure shounen anime series there is now, it's hard to see a reason why we should watch something this generic. Again, I'm not saying this show is bad nor good. To sum it all up in one word. It's "meh".

Sort:  

I actually tried starting the manga, just wasn't doing it for me

If you really want to, start with the anime first then continue with the manga where things end off

Well a lot of people I’ve met have a conniption when they hear that you watched it before reading the manga.

Most of the mangas I've read are from the anime series I've watched. Most of the time, I loved the anime so much that I can't wait what will happen.

Also I think it's actually a smart way to watch the anime first before reading the manga, some mangas are boring to read but once you've watched the anime and loved it, you'd eventually not notice it in the manga

I agree, I was like that with Tokyo Ghoul. I watched it and fell in love with it so then I started buying and reading the manga. I got into anime from watching Black Butler. I remember being 13 and staying up all night on a school night watching it. 😂 What is your favorite manga?

Oh cool! Well One Piece is my most favored anime/manga atm. Even though the recent episodes/chapter in the anime/manga seems to be dragging at the moment lol. But still I do love it. A close second is a manhwa called Tower of God, if you haven't read that one, then I'm totally recommending it now. :)

Okay, I’ll check it out! I have not watched One Piece yet, but I want too!! Ps. I love your channel!!

You're like my sister who loves comics or similar movies.

Not sure if I should take that as a compliment or what :)

nice post i really like nanatsu no taizai
and please upvote me too

I know I’m going to be judged but I watched Seven Deadly Sins on Netflix but I haven’t read the manga yet. I love the show though so I’ll probably pick this manga up after I finish up on Tokyo Ghoul!

Why would you be judged? I watched the show too. :) It's a pretty decent anime.

This post has received gratitude of 2.85 % from @appreciator thanks to: @jlordc.

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

This post has received a 0.39 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Yeah, I gotta say I agree, it is meh, very generic, safe, like... Not really "wow". just a time killer. Honestly I fastforward 70% of it, 'till it gets juicyyyy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59249.61
ETH 2526.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46