You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Spring 2017 Anime Review Roundup

in #anime7 years ago

I'll agree with most of what you have except for "Tsuki ga Kirei/As The Moon, So Beautiful". When the director(?) says that teen love is better off saying "Don't you think the Moon is beautiful?" than actually having a kiss/confession at the end of the anime, it's not a romcom, it's just slice-of-life. 2/10, but I only saw the first 2 episodes.

Re:Creators and Boku no Hero Academia S2/My Hero Academia had the best music for the season, IMHO. Re:Creators also gets best-drawn anime, although some did notice cheating going on here and there.

SukaSuka/WorldEnd gets the "most confusing" anime award of the season, we desperately need a 2nd season. I also felt some strong "Black Bullet - kill 'em all offscreen" vibes throughout the show.

Summer 2017 does not have much watch-ability, IMHO. Maybe Knight's&Magic. I'm a mecha/space opera fan, so there's not much to choose from that's new.

Sort:  

I've not aware of the actual quote from the director but I think it's an important piece of general knowledge for the show that "Tsuki ga Kirei Desu ne." is a famous Japanese expression for saying 'I love you'. I think the general point they might have been trying to make was a commentary about the more reserved nature of Japanese people when dealing with their emotions and this is certainly a theme that plays during the show. That aside, Tsuki ga Kirei is actually a serious romantic drama instead of a RomCom or SoL and without going into detail I can confirm it's ultimately a compelling and complete story, where the characters enter a proper relationship within the first half of the show.

You're dead on saying Re:Creators has the best soundtrack of the season but with Hiroyuki Sawano onboard that was practically a given, BnHA doesn't dissapoint here either.

As for summer 17 my hopes are actually surprisingly high, so far I've shortlisted a whopping 24 shows to check out on top of the 4 ongoing that I'm still watching. There's a lot of variety this season but your particular niche has definitely take a step back this time around, although Knight's & Magic is probably my early favourite so far.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59017.22
ETH 2607.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45