How to watch anime on PSVR

in #anime6 years ago (edited)

Recently, I used my PSVR to watch anime, and it was an interesting experience. My title of choice for this viewing was Mazinger Z Infinity. This giant robot anime movie came out in select theatres in a few regions around the globe but it never made its way here.

The adrenaline action present in the movie made it perfect for the cinema experience, with large robots duking it out like no tomorrow. I'm also a long time Mazinger fan who was waiting for the proper way to experience this movie, so I found something that could hopefully recreate a little bit of the experience that I missed out on.

The application that does the trick is LittlStar VR Cinema on the PS4 as this nifty piece of software puts you directly into a large cinema room. Here's how I got it working, and it's not as straightforward as you'd expect.

  1. Get yourself a USB stick formatted to FAT32. It needs to be big enough to contain your movie.
  2. Download your anime of choice.
  3. If it's in the mkv format like most anime releases today, download Handbrake and use it to convert to MP4. These releases usually come with an internal sub file, so don't forget to change the subtitle to the one included in the file too (in my case, it's in English), otherwise you will be left with no subs after the encoding process. The output file should be named exactly name_2dff.mp4 where name is whatever you choose.
  4. Create a folder on your USB and name it exactly LittlStar.
  5. Drop your new anime file in your LittlStar folder.
  6. Plug in your USB in your PS4, and download the LittlStar VR Cinema application.
  7. Run it, go to Library and select your anime, and you should be good to go.

Note of warning: The names must be exactly as I've written them, and the file format has to be in MP4, and subfile in SRT, otherwise the application will not detect them. Also, if you noticed, I named the file 2dff. If you have 3d movie files, you can also view them in the app, using the naming conventions available here.

Unfortunately, the application didn't allow me to take screenshots while I was in the cinema mode.

What I would love next? Hopefully they include the option of letting other people in the room to watch it together with you, but I'm guessing sharing pirated anime with other people is a no go. However, if they do something like that for Netflix, that would be awesome. The current available alternative is to use a PC HMD with VR Chat which I don't have at the moment, and from the looks of it, I'm not sure I want that kind of experience either (unless it's with a group of friends).

Sort:  

Thanks a lot for sharing this. Now all I need is some PSVR.
.
.
.
.
Unfortunately all my money is in crypto.

Honestly, if you want to watch movies in VR, I heard the occulus go is the best choice, since you can lie down on your bed. I can't do this with the PSVR.

I'll vote for you again once I recharge my SP in three days or so.

No worries. Thanks for reading. I was on an article writing spree so it was a bit much. I should have spread them out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63098.06
ETH 2563.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83