Summer Anime Season 2019

in #anime5 years ago

It's time for summer everyone, and you know what summer means, right? It means beach episode. But wait, this is a season, so let's start with the season long beach episode, Are You Lost?

I'm probably not going to watch this show at all. Apparently it's about a group of high school girls getting washed up on desert island #38 and relying on wild girl to save them all from starvation. I have nothing particular to say about this other than the fact I find the title confusing. In Japanese, it is "そうなんですか" which means "Really?" I guess they took some creative liberties on that translation.

It seems there are going to be five isekai this season, so I'm just going to run through all of them in one go. Arifureta: not aired yet, so IDK. Looks like it's going for a shield hero vibe where the main character is the weakest among many peers. Isekai Cheat Magician: Also not aired, but based on the title, there will be no reason for anyone to ever watch it. Momcon: This isn't the actual name, but the real name is too long to make sense of. The premise is interesting, so once it starts airing, I may make a followup to this post with more information.

The only two that are worth reviewing at this point are Maou Sama Retry and what is abbreviated to Uchi no ko. The former is your typical OP protagonist isekai with a harem. It seems extremely similar to How not to Summon a Demon Lord, but perhaps a bit safer to watch. The latter seems to be an ode to parenting... adopted parenting that is. Of course, because it's a cute non-human child in an anime world, there may or may not be pandering to, well, I'll just leave it there. I wonder if the demon language is a proper language, or if it's just random words.

Luckily, this is the summer season, and this one looks great, even in its first week. I'll be watching Dr. Stone, a science fiction show about an event petrifying all of humanity for over 3,000 years. It chronicles the journeys of two (former) high school students as they attempt to survive in this new post-apocalyptic age and rescue their former friends and family, presumably to rebuild society. I am a pretty big science nerd, so I fall perfectly into the target demographic for this show. I like what I see so far, and I'm told it has a good soundtrack. It's a bit hard for me to notice a show's soundtrack unless I listen to it in isolation first, so take that for what it's worth. But seriously give this a shot. I almost passed it up, a choice I truly could have regretted.

granbelm.png
Activate, Derpbot 5000!

I'm not sure exactly what to call Granbelm yet. It seems like a mecha tournament magical girl show, whatever that could possibly mean. Usually a mecha show seriously has to sell me on its premise to get me to watch, and so far, this one is a bit weak. I'll give it one more episode to wow me because it hasn't so far. The mechas are the derpiest thing I've seen in a while, and I'm not sure if I can possibly get invested in the stakes, but it does seem to go for a Madoka Magica style character coloring scheme, so the true intentions of the studio is anybody's guess.

There are two more shows I will get to watching soon, those being Fire Force, and the new Fate show. I haven't seen them yet, so I will include first impressions of those in my followup post. Stay tuned for that, and enjoy your summer season.

Sort:  

Congratulations @double-negative! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 60 posts. Your next target is to reach 70 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Give Astra lost in space a shot, it has one of best first episode so far (a 45-minute one at that) and there is also To the abandoned sacred beasts that looks like it is going to be the go-to action series this season. Fire force feels like a nostalgic trip even though it is a new show, probably because it gives a strong resemblance with Soul eater and other good old shounen series in the past. One thing is for sure, there are a lot to look forward this season and I am just hoping that Danmachi II won't get the Toaru and Date A Live treatment from J.C. Staff.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60643.63
ETH 2401.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61