[Anime/Manga] Berserk - A Masterpiece

in #anime6 years ago

Hey, what's up Steemit, I’ve been trying to recap over movies, games, manga etc. over the last few weeks and thought I’d keep sharing some of the better shows here. Hopefully keeping a log will help other people pick up new recommendation and maybe you guys will share some of your suggestions with me!

Going Berserk

I consider myself to be a seasoned anime viewer / manga reader. I've been through literally 100's of series and one summer I found myself in a slight drought. I always hear about popular shows but it takes a little bit of inspiration before I make a decision as to what I will be committing my time to for the next days or weeks. Game of Thrones had just concluded another season and I was really in the mood for some medieval-esque warfare.

Scanning through some of the most popular airing and completed anime shows I had always been curious about Berserk. I hit up a couple group chats and asked around - Is this show worth watching? The general consensus was pretty convincing and made me even more anxious to find out about 'that scene' everyone kept mentioning.

I had a few evenings free and if i got hooked...some serious binge watching would ensue...oh boy.

Anime Break Down

Year: 1997 (TV Series)

Creator: Kentaro Miura https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kentaro_Miura

Genre: Action, Historic, Dark Fantasy, Horror

I am used to dated animation and Berserk's original TV run was pretty well drawn in my opinion. I have seen worse in 2017/18 (more on this later...).

The original TV series covers about 1.2 arcs from the Manga with main focus on flashback arc - The Golden Age. It kicks off with some blacksmithing and our hero stepping in to aid a girl in a bar. Sounds like the start of a bad joke, but no – The tone is a little dark right off the bat and we some action. I really don’t know what to think at this point as this dude has a mechanical arm and a bunch of monsters are roaming the lands. Some more cryptic messages and a bit of action leading into a giant flashback. Still unsure what this show was going to offer I pressed on with the binge.

The atmosphere of this huge flashback felt very much similar some of the other ‘Kings & Knights’ stories I had watched years ago. Without spoiling too much, a journey unravels with epic scenes in abundance. I began to understand why people loved this show. Character development and pacing were actually on point and I was impressed with how well the timeline transitioned to each major event. Our hero, ‘Guts’ was to be seen in many settings, as a warrior, as a friend, even as a lover. The story really has it all packed in there and it was great to see Band of Hawk/Flacon encounter their hardships and somewhat paranormal enemies.

So that’s all I’m going to say about the Golden Age. It’s one giant flash back. There are some HUGE plot twists that I shall not mention at all. If you have not read or watched the anime, it really is time to do so.

After finishing the Anime, I was in a state of disbelief. The story had sucked me into it’s vortex and I left needing more. I needed to know what was going to happen after these events. With some more time on my hands, I sourced volume after volume and re read the story from its glorious beginning. If you follow this route, do not skip anything! Read it all, there are some major differences that made me understand the main character in a completely different light. Truly brutal stuff.

Fast forwarding to the last few years, I have kept up with berserk. I recall reading that the author has stated he no longer treats his work as series, rather a cinematic masterpiece. Which I can agree with, it is truly a master piece. Sadly, the release schedule is scattered and uncertain, possibly hitting around a few chapters per year. I look forward to seeing what the next chapter brings, 365 is out this week. A rather ‘whole’ number eh.

For anyone considering the newer iterations, I just couldn’t bring myself to watch these. The movies were fine (a retelling of the ’97 series as a modern trilogy) but the latest couple of shows have been too mechanical for my liking. Lacklustre CGI and general atmosphere of the epic and dark story is diluted and outright lost. I couldn’t stand it and gave up very early on. There may be fans who found enjoyment from these latest outings but I cannot recommend it here.

^ Yeah, It's REALLY bad.

The Dark Souls series has been said to draw some inspiration from Berserk and someone recently pointed out the latest God of War may have too...Though that may be entirely coincidence in story line...

So in a nutshell, watch the ’97 series, watch the movies and read the Manga. Berserk is an epic tale that surprised me in shocking fashion and it gets full marks from me, 10/10 would love to relive the moments again!

Sort:  

Berserk is my all-time favourite, no doubts about it. Rewatched and reread many times.

@ codypiu gracias, realmente lograste una reseña que atrapa. La descripción histórica que haces de Berserk invita a comprobar por uno mismo la calidad dela serie.
Yo había escuchado de ella, pero aún no he llegado a verla ni leerla

Es una de mis series preferidas, yo me quedo lechendo el manga que ver la serie

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62667.39
ETH 2432.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66