My Favourite Animes: Recommended List #1

in #anime6 years ago (edited)

Action / Fantasy

  • Mob Psycho 100 - Laugh out loud funny. It actually belongs in a comedy/action section but it got a bad reception from some weebs because "dah manga waz betta" but I don't get what they're thinking. This anime was not just good, it was hilarious. I loved it. I actually almost didn't watch it because of YouTube comments. Phew, am I glad that I don't listen to advice.

  • Overlord - MMO/game based style "I'M IN ANOTHER WORLD" show where the protagonist is a boss. Literally. And figuratively. And also a skeleton. It's a fun show with fun characters and a sexy female lead.

  • Hai to gensou no grimgar - This got a craaazy bad reception from the Japanese because "ONLY GOBLINS? ლ(ಠ益ಠლ)" but it was a fun show that made a solid attempt at dealing with the seriousness and danger that would be involved in living in a fantasy world. I really liked the artwork, too. It has a kind of watercolour feel to it that I thought was done really well. The picture I've chosen actually doesn't do it justice.

  • Shingeki no Bahamut - Hummmm, what to say about this one. Firstly, I felt that the art was hella good. The story was decent, too. Kind of a solid 7/10. It has two seasons but I've yet to see the second.

I liked the main character, too. He is kind of an anti-hero in the sense that ... he's a douchebag. He doesn't look like your typical anime character which was refreshing, too.

"Ugly dudes can be protagonists, too", huh? Nice.


  • Berserk - It's fun but the manga really is better. Reading that is the only way to truly know the story, too. It uses CGI which some people didn't like. I didn't mind it though, but what can I say? I'm not a hiveminder who's too much of a selfish a$$h@!£ to let an industry experiment. ¯_(ツ)_/¯

  • God Eater - Also uses CGI which again, didn't have the best reception but it wasn't a bad show. Though, I'll admit it was kind of "run of the mill". You know what I mean? A tad on the "just average" side. You feel me dog? But I don't know, if big-ass weapons are your thing, this one is for you. Also, there's this one female character in it with... ahem...I don't know how to put this politely but... really, really, really, really, really, really nice tits. She jumps a lot, too...

  • Sword of the Stranger - This is a movie actually but maybe a little on the less well known side? A shame because it's a good one. It's not fantasy but it's like old Japan/samurai stuff but ... you'll like it. I can almost guarantee that. It's an inspirational story that uses classic tropes to really move you. I guess it kinda IS fantastical because the bad guys use medicine to not feel pain and they want to sacrifice some kid so their boss can be immortal. Also, best. ending. fight. scene. everrrrrr.

respect to the artist


  • Re: Zero kara hajimeru - You'll know what I mean when you watch it. It's one of those animes that makes you think "Oh my god, I've been waiting for you my whole life" but then it just sort of stopped being the best anime I've ever seen and went in the wrong direction, I felt. It's still pretty popular, though. I liked it overall but ... the art towards the end got a lot worse, also it just got kinda ... less interesting? Personal opinion and nothing more though.

  • Blame! - it's a recent movie of a the "silent manga" by the same name. It's ... I liked it. The main character is probably one of the most badass characters ever created. Period. Capital letter new sentence: The enemies are a bit boring comma though. That's my one gripe.

Post-apocalyptic/sci-fi action.

Comedy

  • Yojouhan Shinwa Taikei - Really weird. Just, really weird. But, it's fun and unique and kinda like, really Japanese.
    なんか和風っぽいアニメ。(なんか、わふうっぽいあにめ).
    I really like the OP, too.


  • Plastic Nee-san - If you don't know what this is, you should watch it lmao. If you've ever seen a guy with a bra flex his chest and fire it into someone's face on youtube, this is that.

  • Senyuu - An absolute classic but it doesn't look "old" that's just me choosing terrible low-quality images. It's just ... if you're an anime fan, you're missing out if you don't know about this one.
    知らないと損するよ (しらないとそんするよ)

  • Kono suba - I don't know how to explain how funny I found this. Let's just say I've rewatched it countless times. It's my favourite anime of all time.

Don't know for sure who drew it but I stole it from here


  • Watamote - Pure cringe anime about a girl with massive social anxiety. Almost as bad as me. Almost.

Recent 2017

  • Made in Abyss - Adventurous and "cutesy" but dramatic and exciting. I completely undersell this because it was GREAT. Beautiful and made me feel all flutter-chested when they spoke about diving to the depths of the abyss. It's just so popular that it doesn't really need to be sold, I feel. If you haven't seen it, though, you should probably watch it.


  • Kakegurui - This is so underrated but it's my favourite from this year. The protagonist is a gambling junkie. That's kind of what "kakegurui" means, to gamble in an insane manner. And she loves to say, "サァ、賭け狂いましょう!” (さあ、かけぐるいましょう) and I don't know, you could probably get away with a lot of translations like, "Come! Let's gamble until we go maaaaddd!", "Come! Gamble with me to the depths of madness!", "Now! Lose yourself with me in/to the gamble!", "Come! Let's abandon sanity and gamble in esctasy!", You know? You can get kind of poetic with it. The last one is a bit much, though but what can I say, it's a tough translate for an amateur like me.

Anyway, as you can imagine, she gets off on betting in a completely derranged but also in a somewhat pure and ...admirable way. Her name is 蛇喰夢子 (じゃ ばみ ゆめ こ).
kakegurui-jabami-yumeko-black-hair-semi-realistic-red-eyes-cuffs.jpg


  • ようこそ実力至上主義の教室へ - Another fun show from this year. It's kind of a thriller /intellectual type where the main protagonist is a real thinker. He's actually kind of a badass. Close second for my favourite this year. The last scene for me was one of the best final scenes of any anime. だが、堀北......


  • Jyuu ni tai sen (十二大戦) - This is super new. At the time of writing this, I've only seen one episode but it was fun and action packed. It was about some girl who was raised to be a super-killer mercenary. Think Nina from Tekken (鉄拳). I don't know if she's the protagonist or if we're going to change perspectives throughout the show but she enters a tournament where everyone's a badass and the fighting has only just begun.


  • Ou-sama game - Another very recent show but the first episode was veeeery promising. A LITTLE on the crazy side but as you can tell, I like that. So, it's like, a thriller I guess where people are forced to participate in a death game. Only our main guy knows about it and he's a traumatic wreck from the last time this happened to him. The truth behind the mystery, I sure hope it's not disappointing. Either way, I expect to see a lot of people die.

Which is good... I think...?

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63478.09
ETH 3067.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81