Why I still watch anime at 24

in #anime6 years ago (edited)

People find it unusual that I still watch anime because they don't see the point of it. They think it's a waste of time. Personally, it nurtures the child in me and hits points close to home. Anime embeds life lessons along with its action and creativity. It reminds me of good old days where everything seemed to be straightforward and that the way we live our life is a choice; that if we're not yet contented with how our life is going today, we can always create a better tomorrow.

It might seem kind of funny that I look to anime to get a reminder and motivation in life but I find the emotions they portray contagious. I know that the people behind it pour in genuine feelings and intense passion in their creation. It is not a denial of reality but a healthy way for me to escape into my imagination. Sometimes, all I need is an episode of my favorite anime to remind me of the good life I have and to continue to thrive for a better one. Judge me all you want, but I enjoy anime and here are my favorites!


Top 3 of my favorite anime and the things I've learned from them:

1.) One Piece


source

This is a story about Monkey D. Luffy, a simple-minded person with a great ambition, and his Straw Hat Pirate crew who set out on grand unpredictable adventures to fulfill their dreams. This is a voyage for the search of one great treasure and the fulfillment of many dreams meeting friends along the way who have turned into family. They have given Nakama a whole deeper meaning.

I admire the way this pirate crew live their life. They are a jolly bunch who live according to the rules they have set in their hearts, not by other people's standards. They don't even borrow notes from other people's adventures. They write their own stories themselves, setting out on a journey to find their place but have also found home in each other.

It reminds me to live each moment in the present while shooting for my dreams. After all, the journey is as important as the destination. Whatever we do, we will always be judged by other people. Their judgment is up to them but how we live our own lives is up to us. So I might as well live my life to my heart's content.

In episode 24, a brief conversation between Hawk-eye Mihawk (the strongest swordsman) and Luffy took place after Hawk-eye defeated Zoro.


Hawk-eye Mihawk: Kid, what's your mission?
Luffy: Pirate King!
Hawk-eye: That's a difficult path, harder than surpassing me
Luffy: Like I'd care, cause I'm going to become one anyway.

Whatever dreams we have and goals we set, it'll surely come with a challenging path. As they say, nothing ever worth it is easy. The journey is not about having an easy path in reaching for our dreams or making our dreams smaller to be able to reach it, it's about the will to endure whatever comes our way while still enjoying the ride. It reminds me to just press on. It's a beautiful journey anyway and I know I'll meet the right people along the way.

2.) Fairy Tail



source

A guild that is home to the strongest wizards. A place they could all call home amidst their differences. A family they could run to in times of trouble. They use magic to take on jobs and make a living but most importantly, they use magic to protect their friends; a reason that has become a strong foundation of their Guild.

"A weak person is going to be a weak person but weakness is not evil since human beings are weak creatures to begin with. Alone, you feel nothing but insecurity; that's why we form guilds, that's why we have friends. We walk together in order to live a strong life. The clumsy ones will walk into more walls than the others, and it may also take them longer to get there. If you believe in tomorrow and put yourself out there, you can naturally obtain your strength. That's how you will be able to smile and live strong." - Master Makarov, Fairy tail (variations may vary due to translation)

What I love about Fairy tail's set up is that they are able to go on their individual adventures and grow on their own but could still find a home in the Guild at the end of the day. They continue to harness their skills to be the best but recognizes each other's strengths. They fight like family, pounding on each other but they've got each other's back in the end. They value individual differences and teamwork.

I've always wanted to pursue that idea of going on adventures but having a home to return to. A balance between spontaneity and consistency. We all have our own lives but sometimes, we forget that. I sometimes forget that I have my own adventures and others also have theirs. Each person's journey is not the same because we are our own, with our own sets of differences but that doesn't mean that we can't work together. It reminds me to let go a little; to give room for others to spread their wings and my own. It reminds me that it's okay to travel different paths. We could always meet up somewhere because we have this bond called friendship.

3.) Hunter X Hunter


source

Gon Freecs packed with his survival instinct set out to take the Hunter exam in the hopes of meeting his Father, whose a legendary Hunter himself. Hunters are elites who possess skills that allow them to take on rigorous and dangerous tasks thus becoming one takes a lot of trials. He meets friends during the exam whom he shared adventures with. They may all have different reasons for taking the exam but they have formed a bond that they'll carry with them even after the Hunter exam.

"You should enjoy the little detours to the fullest because that's where you'll find the things more important than what you want" - Ging Freecs, Hunter x Hunter

Gon's innocence and honesty catches people off guard and have even rubbed off his friends. Sometimes, all we could do is live an honest life and let things unfold as we go. We have to believe in whatever we have inside us reinforced by the strength of friendship. It's a good reminder for me to filter the noise of others and to listen from the inside.



I have a lot of anime on my list but these three hits close to home and I find a personal connection with the story and the characters. So, what's your all-time favorites? Drop me a name so I could also watch it and have a take home from your favorites. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64549.55
ETH 3170.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13