You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Journey Into Photorealism: Transatlantic Rendering Relay, My Version

in #animation6 years ago

Wow. Some of those faces look almost more real than photography, if that makes any sense. It's like the computer is able to render detail, texture, and lighting with such uniform precision that they start to look uncanny not because they're incomplete, but because we're not used to observing the real world with that level of detail.

Sort:  

You know, I actually saw this issue addressed in a tutorial recently. Producers of PBR content were being reminded to add in the natural flaws that make photorealism real, like lens flare, barrel distortion, and other things. There were also some tips on how to not be so detailed with human figure renders that it became unrealistic. "The lens can only focus on one thing at a time." So yes. . .I think you are absolutely correct.

I've never played with these tools but I imagine there's some sort of depth of field control?

I remember seeing some videos of Second Life being played on a high end computer, and the best effects seemed to be the ones that made the background a little blurrier.

Yes. There are excellent camera controls for Iray. That's why the background is blurry in the render of the guy where I show the different shaders. Thing is--and I'd never really thought about this until I watched the video I mentioned--it's more likely that even the face of a photography subject is going to have a focal point and even at high def, there should be some falloff. And the light bulb clicked in my head at that point.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66397.79
ETH 3460.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61