Fabricated Films: "I Am a Flamingo" Production Photos - Puppets Pt.1

in #animation6 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemers!

So a project that I've been working on intermittently for the last few years is almost finished, so in the coming days before it's released, I wanted to start sharing some production photos.

Title Slate.jpg

The story is told thru the actions of these two characters, Allie the Alligator and Mingo the...you guessed it -- a pigeon.

IAaF_ACG_VFX39_00979.jpg

In this post I'll be talking a little bit about Mingo, and the process I used to bring her to life.

Step 01: The Design

The design of Mingo actually came to me very easily. Usually when I'm designing a character based on real life, I'll study the animal and really try to figure out its distinctive characteristics. In this case, a flamingo's coloring, boomerang-shaped beak and long legs was all I really felt was necessary to convey a cartoon flamingo.

Here are a few of the exploratory sketches I went off of for the final design.

IMG_9393.JPG

IMG_9506.JPG

Here's a watercolor of the final design I went with.

MingoTheFlamingo copy.jpg

Step 02: The Sculpt

Usually I like to do a full character turnaround and model sheet before starting a sculpt, but the sculpter on this project, Barney Marquez (who's also head of puppets on Tumble Leaf), was able to sculpt the characters without needing them, which gave me more time to develop the world.

Mingo's parts were sculpted separately, so they could be molded in separate parts. Chavant clay (medium, nsp) was used and the eyeballs are acrylic spheres.

IMG_6247.jpg
IMG_6242.jpg

Step 03: The Mold
Here's the head placed in a box made out of foam core, getting ready to be poured full of silicone to create the mold.

IMG_6432.jpg

Here are the head and body molds after they had been cut open and fitted with connections for the limbs.
IMG_6438.jpg

Step 04: Casting and Armature

Once the molds have been cut open, the plugs are set in and then the mold is closed up again ready to be poured. I used a two-part plastic called smooth cast, to cast the puppets. Here's a photo of Mingo structurally assembled, ready for fabrication.

IMG_6456.jpg

The limbs are made out of aluminum armature wire, and wrapped in an athletic bandage before paint.

IMG_6496.jpg

Step 05: Fabrication

Once the puppet has been assembled, it was very labor intensive to glue all this furry fabric to the body parts. Lots of tests were done to figure out the best way to convey feathers in miniature. A lot of fabrics just didn't look right.

IMG_6492.jpg

Once all the fur was glued on a "puffed up," it was then snipped snipped to length, and flattened to look like feathers.

IMG_6495.jpg

Step 06: Paint

The puppet was painted to the proper pink I wanted (it was a coincidence that the fabric was also pink) using an airbrush. And then highlights were added to the feathers to help give variation and depth using a dry brush technique.

IMG_6520.jpg

Step 07: Lids and Mouth

I didn't document this aspect of the process very well, but the eyelids are vacuum formed plastic, using a small vacuum form machine, and the beak was sculpted and cast.

IMG_6538.jpg

IMG_6537.jpg

Step 08: The Finished Puppet

Once Mingo was assembled, I was able to put her on a test stage and make sure that she looked good in-camera. And there you have it, a fully functioning puppet ready for animation!

IMG_6550.jpg

In my next post, I'll be documenting the techniques I used to bring Allie to life, as her process was completely different than Mingo's and a caused me a lot more grief. haha

Let me know in the comments if this was way too long and I'll try to condense these in the future. Any feedback regarding my format is super helpful for me as these posts evolve.

Thanks for peepin!

Sort:  

This is the kind of post I want to read here on steemit. Keep them comming! I love to see your process.

Thanks Mitch, I appreciate it! It's good to know that people want to see this stuff.

Very interesting! I think the post is a good length and the photos work well with your text. Great to see the character design and build from soup to nuts. So much technical know-how here... Do most animators build their own characters? Seems like you have to be an engineer to get this done.

I found a character at a garage sale. It was supposedly a maquette for an animated motion picture that was in production and then got cancelled when the studio changed hands. I recently took this photo with various white objects for the white is white photo contest here on Steemit.

Let me know if you can identify this guy for me?

wmqoyahlj4oecsg35kks.jpg

Oh whoa, that is an awesome maquette. What a find! Nothing about that design is ringing any bells, however, it does look similar to this guys designs:

http://www.rednosestudio.com/

Awesome little studio based out of Greenfield, Indiana USA

Depending on where that garage sale was...who knows!

And no, most animators do not build there own puppets. I learned all of this stuff out of necessity while trying to make my own films early on. When you can't pay people, you gotta make it do! haha

There are a lot of stop motion animators who are multi-talented tho for sure. My buddy Max Winston for example:

https://www.ratbatstudios.com/

He's a goddamned savant when it comes to this stuff.

Fantastic. I am a great stop-motion animation fan so it's really wonderful to see the process you go through to create the art. I love the character. Looking forward to more. Upvoted and resteemed.

Thank you, I appreciate it!

This is so cool! I gave you a shout-out in my latest video to try to get some more people to your blog! Your posts are so under-rated, and so awesome! I really hope the upvotes start rolling in for you! Great work man!

Oh thank you! I'll have to check out your video. :D I'm doing my best, and hopefully I'll be sharing actual shorts soon! Not just the making of stuff.

Massive respect for your artform! An incredible amount of work and foresight must go into this. Great to see you on Steemit! :)

Liekwise! There is a lot of work that goes into this stuff, so it's nice that I'm finding a community of people interested in seeing how it gets made.

Always loved stop motion, but the process boggled my mind - and still does.

Congratulations @tysonjames! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of posts published
Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Very educative piece. This has really inspired me to explore my thoughts through arts. Thank you for this privilege

Thanks for the kind words!

Thank you for so detailed description of the puppet making process. It fascinating!

No problem! Trying my best.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85