Transatlantic Rendering Relay.

in #animation7 years ago (edited)

Spokesperson.png

You may have seen this render before. She is to be The Writers' Block virtual spokesperson. She is so far unnamed, but will be voiced by the lovely @tinypaleokitchen. @rhondak had an awesome idea to leverage today's technology in order to create short animations to introduce new members to The Block. We also have bigger plans for the future.

daz.PNG

This was created in Daz Studio, an application that does a great job of representing the human form. The figures can be clothed and different hair styles applied, different characters applied to the base figure. Facial expressions can be tuned to make them smile or frown for example, and all of this can be animated.

Unfortunately Daz Studio is also a pain in the rear to work with. Sure, we could export the figure to something like Maya to animate and render in there, but the materials this Genesis 8 figure uses are not easily transferable. They are tuned for the in built Daz Studio renderer, Iray.

Nevertheless, @rhondak has soldiered on and created a scene and short animation for our spokesperson. For a short 20 second animation, which will run at 25 frames per second, we are looking at rendering 500 frames. Although Rhonda has a spiffing new gaming laptop with great specs, the rendering takes its toll on her machine. Each frame takes her well over an hour to render and her laptop's fans are in permanent overdrive. She has been known to place her laptop on top of ice packs, raising the laptop from her desk in order to allow more airflow in to cool it. As the task of rendering is quite intensive, she cannot use her laptop for anything else while this is happening. Rhonda is in the US.

I am sharing the rendering load here in the UK, and uploading each frame to a shared Google Drive folder which Rhonda has access to. We coordinate with each other which series of frames each will render, so there is no overlap with wasted frames.

Capture.PNG

I recently upgraded my PC with most components, apart from the graphics card. I have an Nvidia GTX 980 which - while no slouch - is quite ancient in the technological race for faster graphics processors. Even so, my system can render the same frames of animation in a little under 40 minutes. Not bad you might think but consider this: if I were to render all of the animation on my own, this 20 second clip would take me a solid 2 weeks of rendering, running 24 hours a day. It's kind of gutting when I watch videos such as this:

This too is in Daz Studio and is actually rendering in real-time. The system this is running on contains two Titan X video cards. Since the introduction of the GTX 1080 Ti, the Titan X has become unavailable - the 1080 Ti is almost the same card with 11GB of memory compared with the 12GB on the Titan - but at half the price. Even so, the cost of a 1080 Ti eclipses what I just spent on a new motherboard, processor, memory and m.2 drive.

Rhonda and I will plod on within our current systems limitations. See you in two weeks when we have finished rendering ^.^



gmuxxxx.png
Banner by @hoschitrooper

Spam comments WILL receive a flag, you have been warned.


Like what I do? Vote for my witness by clicking THIS LINK. Thanks for your support.

Are you a writer or keen to learn? Do you wish to join a community of like-minded individuals who can help hone your writing skills in the fields of fiction, non-fiction, technical, poetry, or songwriting? Join us at The Writers' Block by clicking the logo below.

Sort:  

Don’t you think she would be better with brown hair?!

We are 60 frames in. NO!

Don't make me cuss you...

Pink and brown would be nice.

£$%&%$£&!!!!

@kubbyelizabeth, I think we have convinced him!

You know just a few more frames :) Think of children!

That entire comment stream up there killed me! XD

It had me in stitches too! I feel so blessed to know these hilarious people.

Once @swelker101 sends me the 1080ti he promised me, I can help render too.

ygnali.jpg

Hi @gmuxx, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Join us on Thursdays for Pimp Your Post Thursday at 11am EST or 7PM EST in the Steemit Ramble Discord or:

If you’d like to nominate someone’s post just visit the Steemit Ramble Discord

Hi @gmuxx!
I read this post with great interest last night. I've always been fascinated by 3d modelling, but haven't gotten around to starting to learn yet. Not to worry!
It's very interesting to read about the process in the meantime

With regard to the rendering time issues, I can't help but think about (and be excited about) how blockchain based solutions will be able to do this in the future (like the iexec project and the golem project). As far as I have understood this will enable "regular" people (i.e. not only big movie studios) to render highly detailed 3d scene without tons of expensive hardware. Got any thoughts on this?
Best regards!

There are already 'render farm' solutions where you send your file off and a host of powerful PCs render your work then send it back to you. Unfortunately, as you can imagine, this is not cheap.

I see. Yes, that makes sense. I wonder if a blockchain approach will make it cheaper in the future.

Is Daz Studio freeware? If so then I'm happy to contribute to the rendering...

I have an i7 6700k, GTX 1060, 64Gb of ram...
Not perfect but should be able to help

The renderer prefers a nice graphics card rather than the CPU power. The 1060 should be up to the task.

Installing as we speak.
Hit me up on discord with how I can help you out

If only you knew someone with a 1080ti

Grumble grumble

Now, just think if you knew someone that was able to help.

I know of no such person

Wow. I like your post @gmuxx 😍👍

So, this is how it's created. Now I have an insight to how the scenes and characters of Game Of Thrones were created.
I love the fact that your 10min:32sec video is in high definition and very detailed.
Thanks for sharing this @gmuxx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60343.62
ETH 2490.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53