FREE STEEMIT GIFS | Post Animations Using The New Steemit Logo

in #animation6 years ago



Spin-THIN-ANIMATE-HEADER_2.gif

I was pleasantly surprised after logging in a few weeks ago to find the Steemit logo had been updated from the generic STEEM logo to it's very own new logo. I instantly really liked this new design and as soon as I saw it a few animation ideas instantly sprang to mind.

I made these animated gifs for the Steemit community. So if you do like any of them please feel free to save them and use them in your own posts.


As you can see the logo is made up of 2 commas (,) overlapping one another. So with only a reasonable sized .jpeg version of the logo in hand I set about cutting it up and turning it into a vector in Adobe Illustrator so it was ready for animating.

Ill-Screen.jpg


Next I imported the logo into Adobe After Effects and animated it.


AE-Screen.jpg


Below are some of the results. Tip: As you're scrolling down 1 or 2 gifs may look like they are static, but give each one a few seconds to get back to the beginning of the loop for the animation to repeat.







Steemit-Logo-EARN_1.gif












Steemit-Logo-follow.gif












Steemit-Logo-Outline.gif












Steemit-logo-Swing.gif












Spin-thin.gif












Spin.gif










Well out of the ten or so different animations I experimented with these were the one I liked the most. I hope you like them to. These gifs aren't only for the community to use in their posts, but they're also to help promote Steemit as a whole so feel free top use them as you wish (A shout out to @animate when you first use one is always appreciated but not essential). Next week I shall make a selection of Steemit gifs suitable for the night mode setting.





Sort:  

Very cool. However, the Steemit logo is trademarked. Can't use it "freely". Better play it safe and animate the STEEM logo (triple blue), which is free to use.

Yeah, I recall reading some discussions on the copyright of the new steemit logo right after it was released. Just as a precaution, might be best not to use it from what I understood anyways. Too bad, these are cool gifs and you obviously put a lot of effort into them.

From a legal perspective, why not? I mean, people use any logo or brand they want (BMW, SNICKERS, SONY, PEPSI, CHANNEL etc) everywhere on the web, otherwise how would one be able to blog if such graphics were needed in the post?

I'm not a legal expert, but the way I interpret this, when there's money involved it's a different situation. If you make a post and earn $100 using a big company's trademarked logo, you'd be breaching the trademark, unless you asked permission to use their logo. Repeat that many times, and they may send you their lawyers knocking.

Yea until you get sued for using a copyright logo!
The old STEEM logo has been licensed for us all to use, but NOT this one that belongs to STEEMIT INC. Better remove them and stop using them unless you are given specific permission to use them.

I did think about that but in their blog post they state:

One may not make unauthorized commercial use of, reproduce, prepare derivative works, distribute copies, perform, or publicly display the Steemit logo or brand, except as permitted by the doctrine of fair use or as authorized in writing by us.

I'm no lawyer but I feel this constitutes as fair use. After all I'm not selling anything. In fact I'm giving them away. We'll see how it goes. I hope they are ok with it. If they are not and they complain then I shall take them down.

Actually, when you make money from your post, you are technically using the logo to earn income. Fair use would be if you were explaining something about Steemit and showed their logo as part of their business, then fine.

Ignorance is not an excuse. If you want to wait for a lawsuit... carry on, but be warned. I'm no lawyer either, but if it was my logo and you made unauthorized derivative works from it, I would be suing you. I did need to look all this stuff up since I do own my own logo's and what you are doing is not the way I understand the law.

I'm just trying to be helpful here, but if you wish to ignore my advice, it is no skin off my nose. Do as you please.

Thank you for your great work!

super cool gif and i already download all of it for my collections ;)

Can you send a link of the vector file? Please?

thanks a lot =)

Hey @animate, are you still doing animated username designs? Im interested in creating a footer and would love to use your services :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62513.70
ETH 2949.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60