Odd-eyed cat - What is this eye condition and what causes it?

in #animals6 years ago

20170531_091527-01.jpeg

I saw this cat while I was preaching. At first glance, it's just like an ordinary cat but I notice something different. The color of his eyes was different. I was really surprised because it was my first time to see such kind of cat. I asked the owner why the cat's eye color are different, but they didn't know.
So I google it to know about this condition. And this is what I found.

When we think of cats’ eyes, we usually picture eyes of green, blue or amber. But once in a while, we encounter cats with 2 different-colored eyes.

People are sometimes said to have “cats’ eyes” because of the variation in their eye colors, but cats with this condition are often called “odd-eyed.”

What is this cat eye condition, and what causes it? It’s technically known as heterochromia iridis, the Greek term for “differently colored irises.”

Although heterochromia does not have symptoms, it can be an indication of genetic change, injury or previous disease. Every so often, deafness in 1 or both ears accompanies heterochromia in cats. However, 60 to 70 percent of these “odd-eyed” cats have no hearing problems. Genetic heterochromia can occur not only in white cats but also in those who have no white fur on their bodies. (Google)

Screenshot_20180213-153220-01.jpeg

Heterochromia mention above are hereditary, and these may be associated with a congenital syndrome. Other cases are acquired and caused by a disease or due to an injury. Heterochromia can be
called a defect. Afterall, it looks normal. Besides, it gives more uniqueness for those who have it. There were more creations that might
surprise us if we just have time to look at them. Even a simple study about monarch butterfly or some migratory birds will amused us, how well created
they are by unseen God but revealed by His great qualities.

Let's grab a sit sometimes, investigate and see the wonders of God's creation. 😊

THANK YOU FOR READING AND FOR YOUR CONSISTENT SUPPORT! 😍

received_2074618922550017.png

Sort:  

I love animals but im affraid to the dogs

Hehe yeah i knew someone like you.. 😁

Amazing 😍😍

Thanks cha.. 😘

Cute cat. Nice nice.

This one is a dog.. :) he was so cute, i could not resist..
FB_IMG_1518978954108.jpg

Wooow! Is this yours @fearlessfaith ? Cool. 😎

I wish.. haha..

I love cats and dogs too (but love cats more). I am just wondering though why the cat is in chain :(

Yeah. Me too I was wondering, but I think they are just protecting the cat from strangers.

That's a cool cat.

Yes it is. 😎

Can I take him home? 🐺

Sure. Imo nala te. Diri man iton akon. 😁

Wow nice.. I'd like to have one.

Hehe yeah but its rare. 😁

Wow! Amazing cat

Thank you kyah! 😁

Cuttie cat though i'm not a cat lover.. Thanks for the informatin you share :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64542.61
ETH 3460.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51